Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Code P0340

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario
    Posts
    162
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default Code P0340

    Hello All

    Need some help!

    Got a Code P0340 and a limp home mode today. Fortunately was within a few miles of home. Looked up on Spyder Codes and it indicates it is a Crankshaft Position sensor.
    The dealer however indicates that Code is a camshaft position sensor.
    i have gone through all the posts and some say cam and others say crank, which is correct?

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Schenevus, NY
    Posts
    419
    Spyder Garage
    2

    Default

    It is CAMshaft position sensor. Easy to replace yourself. Located next to oil filter. Pretty common failure. Also check left fuse box fuse F18 and make sure its not blown.
    Last edited by Joel The Biker; 07-27-2018 at 04:47 PM.
    2021 Sea to Sky RT , Highland green

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario
    Posts
    162
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Thanks, I have a 2016 RTS. I donít see that specific fuse number. What is the fuse description for that F18 fuse?

    Quote Originally Posted by Joel The Biker View Post
    It is CAMshaft position sensor. Easy to replace yourself. Located next to oil filter. Pretty common failure. Also check left fuse box fuse F18 and make sure its not blown.

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Schenevus, NY
    Posts
    419
    Spyder Garage
    2

    Default

    The camshaft position sensor is abbreviated as CAPS. I think there is a misprint in the manual for the fuse number. It is fuse F8. But I doubt the fuse is blown, because the bike will not run if it is.
    Last edited by Joel The Biker; 07-27-2018 at 05:17 PM.
    2021 Sea to Sky RT , Highland green

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Schenevus, NY
    Posts
    419
    Spyder Garage
    2
    2021 Sea to Sky RT , Highland green

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario
    Posts
    162
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Perfect, thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by Joel The Biker View Post

  7. #7
    Very Active Member trikermutha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,086
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    My Dad just got the same code on his 2017 RT with just over 3K miles on it. He had it towed to the shop for warranty repair.

  8. #8
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario
    Posts
    162
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Just a follow-up. The cam sensor was replaced. The Service manager indicated that he has seen this several times and 90% of the time they find oil in the sensor connection which shorts across the terminals and causes the Code. While it can be replaced yourself, I believe it needs to be hooked up to BUDDS to clear the codes and ensure calibration.
    Seems like a part redesign is necessary, or there was a batch of poor quality sensors as many people seem to be having this issue.


    Quote Originally Posted by gazunni View Post
    Hello All

    Need some help!

    Got a Code P0340 and a limp home mode today. Fortunately was within a few miles of home. Looked up on Spyder Codes and it indicates it is a Crankshaft Position sensor.
    The dealer however indicates that Code is a camshaft position sensor.
    i have gone through all the posts and some say cam and others say crank, which is correct?
    Last edited by gazunni; 08-02-2018 at 08:42 PM.

  9. #9
    Very Active Member oldguyinTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    3,091
    Spyder Garage
    2

    Default

    Had the same issue 3 times on my 2013 RTL. If the computer doesn't know what position the cam is in it retards the timing and the bike goes into limp mode. Sometimes they backfire when decelerating, as mine did. I ponied up the $50 the third time, as by then I was out of the factory warranty and in the BEST warranty, which I think is great. Gonna buy it for my new Spyder as well.
    "Champagne Dream"
    2017 Champagne Metallic RT-S SE-6 w/Rivco Dual Flag Holders, Show Chrome Black Touring Rack & risers, RAM Smartphone Mount, Magic Mirror Mounts, Guardian Bells, WOLO "Bad Boy" Air Horn, 12 Volt Power Outlet, Spyderpops Full View Turn Signals.
    2017 RT-S , Stock Brake pedal extender is twice the size of the stock pedal. Champagne Metallic

  10. #10
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario
    Posts
    162
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    I was also in BEST warranty and paid the $50, but they also replaced the seat as it was tearing for the second time at the pointy part where it meets the glove box. Another poor design.

    Quote Originally Posted by oldguyinCT View Post
    Had the same issue 3 times on my 2013 RTL. If the computer doesn't know what position the cam is in it retards the timing and the bike goes into limp mode. Sometimes they backfire when decelerating, as mine did. I ponied up the $50 the third time, as by then I was out of the factory warranty and in the BEST warranty, which I think is great. Gonna buy it for my new Spyder as well.

  11. #11
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Tolland Ct
    Posts
    31
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Can anyone post a picture on where it’s located on an F3. That would be really great !

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    18
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default Camshaft position sensor "Easy to replace yourself"

    Quote Originally Posted by Joel The Biker View Post
    It is CAMshaft position sensor. Easy to replace yourself. Located next to oil filter. Pretty common failure. Also check left fuse box fuse F18 and make sure its not blown.
    Ok Joel, got in there today and got all the way into the loosing of the bolt for the sensor. As they say no guts no glory! Any tips on getting the bolt out without dropping it into the engine and then trying to get the new sensor back in? Just seems like a hole I don't wanna dig! Any pointers or videos on this would be appreciated.

    Thanks in advance!

  13. #13
    Active Member spyder01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    millsboro,delaware
    Posts
    346
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    I changed my sensor in a couple minutes.If youre worried about dropping the screw then stuff a rag down into the area below the screw so if you drop it will fall onto the rag.Put oil on o ring to make it slide in easier.
    2017 RTL ORBITAL BLUE

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    18
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default Got it!

    Quote Originally Posted by spyder01 View Post
    I changed my sensor in a couple minutes.If you're worried about dropping the screw then stuff a rag down into the area below the screw so if you drop it will fall onto the rag.Put oil on o ring to make it slide in easier.
    It too a little longer than a couple of minutes but the rag was used just like you recommended and I left the wire connected until it was out. A long pair of needle nose pliers came in handy too. Then I plugged the wire into the new one before installing and in she went! Definitely tight quarters!
    Now just got to take to the dealer to do the BUDS check.

    Thanks for the help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •