Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Another newbie here

I have owned my RT-S SM5 for 10 days now and I love it. I've owned bikes for 35 years and over the winter was thinking of updating my 2001 Honda ST1100. I was looking online at St1300, Bmw's - Sport tooring bikes. One snowy Saturday morning I woke up and thought "What about a Spyder"? I was somewhat interested in them when they first came out but up until then didn't think it was for me. So i decided to get on the net and see what I could find out.

What did I find? Spyderlovers.com! Wow! I found this to be an amazing source of information and humor too. lots of interesting, diverse, and knowledgable people. I was thinking Bob Denman was like Wilson from the TV show Home Improvement, you never saw his face but he had words of wisdom to offer every day. But then I thought that description fit Scotty and then I realized the whole site was full of Wilsons!

Armed with what I learned I decided I would purchace a Spyder RT. So I began the quest. Boy, Spyders are sure cheaper in the US than here in Canada. There is only one dealer in my province, Nova Scotia, and they had a few but the price was still a detraction. Then in March I came across this RT-S on Kijiji but it was 1000 miles away in Ontario. It was a demo with 600 miles on it. So I contacted the owner who turned out to be the owner of a BRP dealership and was currently in Florida for a few months. Did my due diligence on the dealership and found them to be reputable BRP dealer (not much info on Spyders though). So we made a deal. Saved may $ooo's.