Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Fla/NJ
    Posts
    70
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default Help - 2015 F3 stuck with Emergency brake on!

    Out on ride emergency brake will not release. Any ideas???8

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Fla/NJ
    Posts
    70
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default Help needed. 2015 f3.

    Bike is stuck with emergency brake on. Any solutions

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Platte City, MO
    Posts
    384
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Any details? Year? Model? Background?
    Peggy and Howard

    Hers: 2013 Spyder ST-S SM5

    His: 1999 Honda VFR Interceptor

  4. #4
    Very Active Member RICZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    1,786
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    To free the brake, use two 12mm open end wrenches to loosen the cable at the caliper end.
    Ours is a red, black and chrome 2017 F3 Limited. Bought new in 2/2019. The avatar is my first bike back in 1952, a Simplex Servi-Cycle. Photo taken at the Barber Museum.
    2017 F3 Limited , Red, Black & Chrome

  5. #5
    Very Active Member Lew L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    forrest above Reno, Nv
    Posts
    2,749
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    A 12mm wrench and a pr of pliers to loosetn the cable that activates the parking brake to get you going.

    Lew L
    Kaos----- Gone but not forgotten.

    2014 RTS in circuit yellow, farkeling addiction down to once every few months.ECU FLASH IS GREAT.
    2014 RTS , Circuit Yellow

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Fla/NJ
    Posts
    70
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    thanks to all. disconnected cable got home. it works now that i am home.??? What is Happening any clues??/

  7. #7
    Very Active Member bmccaffrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    rome new york
    Posts
    2,329
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by honsfun View Post
    thanks to all. disconnected cable got home. it works now that i am home.??? What is Happening any clues??/
    Brake motor is going bad. Common problem Mine went with 1300 miles.
    There was a bulletin on them. Should be covered under warranty. I always carry 2 -12mm wrenches Even though it was replaced

  8. #8
    SpyderLovers Sponsor cptjam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    3,385
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Just a FYI; if you remove the bolt that holds the arm on, you can pry it free. Remove arm, disconnect cable, replace arm.
    Joe Meyer



    Dealer for the Outlaw/ROLO laser Alignment system

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Fla/NJ
    Posts
    70
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    checking the forum i see i am not alone and many have had this happen. If there is a service bulletin would the replacement of the actuator motor be a covered expense. or am i on my own??

  10. #10
    Very Active Member JayBros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Mint Hill, NC
    Posts
    4,671
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Since it's out of original factory warranty time, unless you have a B.E.S.T. extended warranty that may still be in force it's on your nickel. It's called a control gear motor, PN 278003071, $184.99 from Cheap Cycle Parts but listed as not available by BRP which means the part number may have changed.
    Artillery lends dignity to what would
    otherwise be a vulgar brawl.
    ******************************
    Cognac 2014 RT-S

  11. #11
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Fla/NJ
    Posts
    70
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    if a new control gear motor is installed is BUDS required?? Or there should be no problem with motor swap

  12. #12
    Very Active Member JayBros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Mint Hill, NC
    Posts
    4,671
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Since you would be doing all the work with the ignition off I doubt B.U.D.S. would be needed. When mine was replaced under warranty after about one year of service the job was finished before I could fully warm a seat in the waiting area. I did not watch the technician work. To be certain you don't do anything that might throw a code, complete all the mechanical and electrical plug-in actions, including reconnecting the cable to the caliper, before turning on the ignition switch.
    Artillery lends dignity to what would
    otherwise be a vulgar brawl.
    ******************************
    Cognac 2014 RT-S

  13. #13
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Fla/NJ
    Posts
    70
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    some thing just does not add up. When i hooked up cable to actuator at the caliper and tried to use parking brake it locks the wheel and refuses to release. When i remove the actuator from the caliper the motor and cable work as they should every time. Why would the motor and cable work as they should, except when hooked to actuator at the caliper??? Possibly the cable pull is too long and is locking up creating to much resistance for the motor to overcome. So i thought i would experiment. I added a extension link between the actuator and the parking brake cable making the pull less. Now it works every time. Lets see for how long??

  14. #14
    Very Active Member RICZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    1,786
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    You cable is properly adjusted when the clevis or D ring like thingy that pulls the lever on the caliper JUST SLIDES back and forth on the lever. It's not loose, nor is it tight. Thanks Shawn Smoaks!
    Ours is a red, black and chrome 2017 F3 Limited. Bought new in 2/2019. The avatar is my first bike back in 1952, a Simplex Servi-Cycle. Photo taken at the Barber Museum.
    2017 F3 Limited , Red, Black & Chrome

  15. #15
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Fla/NJ
    Posts
    70
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    i tried that. The parking brake would not releasethumbnail brake caliper 2.jpg

  16. #16
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Fla/NJ
    Posts
    70
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    this is what i found when i checked the motor. thumbnail brake.jpg

  17. #17
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Fla/NJ
    Posts
    70
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    looks like the motor was replaced as this does not look like oem conn

  18. #18
    Very Active Member JayBros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Mint Hill, NC
    Posts
    4,671
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    I agree, it doesn't look like OEM wiring connection, but I'm at the end of my tech knowledge on this problem.
    Artillery lends dignity to what would
    otherwise be a vulgar brawl.
    ******************************
    Cognac 2014 RT-S

  19. #19
    Active Member RayBJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    198
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Are you able to check the voltage at the motor? Maybe a poor connection in the connectors to the motor not providing full torque.

    Dirt bikes, 1982 Virago 750, 2009 MP3-500, 2011 Mana 850, 2013 & 15 Triumph Trophy SE, 2018 Triumph Tiger 1200, 2020 Spyder RT
    2020 RT , Chalk White

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •