Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wind blast

Registered Users
    Spyder Garage

Default Wind blast

Hey everyone! I've had my new Spyder RS-S for about a week now and I'm loving it, with one exception. I took it on the highway for about a 50 mile round trip yesterday and it was NOT fun! That being said, keep in mind that I'm fairly new to motorcycles and very new to the Spyder, so maybe it's something in my riding style. I had never taken my motorcycle on the highway, so I don't have anything to compare it to, but I was getting hammered by the wind blast. Not so much from front to back, but more from side to side. It was a fairly windy evening, but nothing too crazy, so I don't think it was abnormal wind conditions. My body was getting pushed from side to side enough to make me kind of nervous. I'm a 6' tall 180 pound guy, so I shouldn't be having this problem, in my opinion. Is this common??? It made me wonder how a motorcycle rider could handle it and stay balanced. Something's not right!!! Haha!!!

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Unfortunately; it's more llike something that you need to get acclimated to...
    You're no longer in a "cage", and you have far less protection from wind gusts...
    Try tucking your knees in against the tank; it'll help keep you from getting moved around on the bike so much!
    2010 RT A&C, RT-L, RT-L , Orbital Blue, Cognac, Jet Black

Registered Users
    Spyder Garage

Hi Bob,