Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Smile Doc Humphreys RT BELT VIBRATION DAMPER KIT

Hello Spyder Friends,

I have been putting up with that annoying belt vibration for almost 2 years. A smoothspyder did not help at all, just made it occur at a higher speed, same with tightening the belt. I know some do not get the vibration, but with us always riding 2 up we got it between 65-75. It would occur as low as 60 if going up a hill. It really killed our enjoyment of our Spyder on highway trips, and was not looking forward to Going to Valcourt.

Purchased the F3 idler kit from Pit Bull and the adapter kit from Doc Humphreys (roadster renovations). Doc did a wonderful job creating the kit. All the holes lined up perfect, brackets were painted nice and all the hardware was good quality.

Decided to leave the smoothspyder on the bottom of the belt. I paid 250 bucks for that thing, might as well get some use out of it. After looking at finless Bob's video, I still think it is worth having an idler at the bottom of the belt to stop it from bouncing around. At the very least it may help with vibrations at the bottom of the belt when you let off the throttle.

Words cannot describe how happy Meg and I were to not feel the vibration, it was freaking gone!!!

Not only that, we noticed the Spyder was smoother even at lower speeds. What we always thought were engine vibes was the belt vibration. We drove for 75 miles, tried all speeds in 5 MPH increments all the way up to 95 MPH (fastest we ever drove the Spyder). This is the way the Spyder was meant to be, smoother then any 2 wheeled motorcycle we ever owned.