Spyder Garage

Default Poor gas mileage 2012 RTL

Rather than hijack an existing thread in the RT Touring forum, I'm opening this one at the risk of being thought a vile cross-poster.

My bike is getting 21mpg. I am not a zoom-zoom rider, mostly because I am still a rank beginner. I weigh 180#, and I usually have a computer backpack (sans computer) in the frunk.

The bike is stock except for the Bajarons swaybar and links I installed. The bike was serviced by the dealer before it went up for sale: rear brake pads, new rear tire, brake fluid flush, oil change, and a "ten-star", whatever that is.

Where do I start?
    Myron Wooley

USMC 1975 - 1979

2nd Spyder: Pearl White 2016 Spyder RT Limited, purchased December 18, 2016 with 1 mile
    First Spyder: Pearl White 2012 Spyder RT Limited, gone to a good home

Spyder Garage

Have you read the "Do's and Don'ts for new Spyder owners" postings in the general section. If not that would be the first place to start. I also got poor mileage until riding in the manner suggested by that post. I now regularly get 30-31 mpg. My 2012 is stock except for car tires on all three wheels and I don't think that they do anything for mileage.

Happy TRAils/NSD
    Paul

2012 RT L
    AMA 25 years Life Member
    TRA
    PGR
    Rhino Riders Plate #83
    Venturers #78
    TOI

2012 Spyder RT L , Baja Ron Plugs and wires Lava Bronze

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

What are your shift-points?
    How about your normal cruising rpm?
    How about your tire pressures?
    21 mpg is pretty dang low; something is up.
    The bike isn't slobbering fuel out of anyplace; is it?
    (Purge valve???? )
    2010 RT A&C, RT-L, RT-L , Orbital Blue, Cognac, Jet Black

Spyder Garage

Default Depends....