Invalid Emails
    Spyder Garage

Default Anyone have experience with a blind passenger?

Being a newbie I won't receive my first Spyder till March/April (2016 F3 Limited). That is ok w/ me since here in NJ we have 16" of snow right now. The reason for my question is that my better half is almost 100% blind. I wouldn't think blind people would get much of a thrill on a two wheeler but I'm hoping a spyder will feel more comfortable for her. She is a people person and i'm sure would love to meet and hang w/ others but I have to talk her into getting on the bike in the first place. Hence my question; anyone have a similar situation or experience that I could convey to my wife?

Thank you in advance

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

How much vision does she have?
    If she can only sense light and dark; I would suggest that you offer to take her to an empty parking lot.
    (Preferably a place that she's familiar with), and just let her get the feel of the bike moving underneath her at VERY low speed...
    You might want to work out a more secure way to keep her on the seat... Some armrests, with the hardware tightened-down enough to make them tougher to move...
    Of course; this is all based upon the assumption that you can get her familiar with the bike when it's stationary first!

She would probably want to hear your voice during these experiences, so a good helmet that protects her face, and is equipped with an intercom that is linked to yours; would be necessary.
    Good Luck; please let us know how this all proceeds!

For the record: I'm 20/360 in my left eye, and see blurry blobs...
    Last edited by Bob Denman; 01-25-2016 at 03:36 PM.
    2010 RT A&C, RT-L, RT-L , Orbital Blue, Cognac, Jet Black

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default CONTACT THESE PEOPLE