Thread: Newbie

Spyder Garage

Default Newbie

I’ll introduce myself. I am a newbie to the spyder world but not a rider – just educating myself. Early last month I ended a 35 year of on again off again history of two-wheel riding. At present, I am half way into an eight-week surgery recovery period. I am trying to decide if I want to put my knees in the breeze again on something with three wheels so have been watching you tube videos about the spyder. Although I rode Goldwings almost exclusively during my riding history, a triked wing is of no interest to me. My experience with a spyder is limited to having sat on a couple for maybe five minutes each time - no rides. My first impression from just sitting on the two different models was a spyder does not fit me. I can’t put my finger on why. I didn’t feel comfortable is about the only way I can describe it. I am considering going back to do a test ride or two after I am cleared to resume normal activities in a month or so. It will be sometime in the fall before I know what my future medical condition might be so buying new or even a late model is out of the question. I may return with questions on the older models as I continue my self-education.

Jerry Bennett

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Do you have any ATVing experience? The Spyders feel a lot like they do...
    2010 RT A&C, RT-L, RT-L , Orbital Blue, Cognac, Jet Black

Very Active Member Don in E Texas's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default Welcome fellow Texan...

Best wishes on your recovery - hope that the future does include getting your knees in the breeze.

Don't know what model Spyder you sat on before - maybe one of the 08 - 09. I had one and it never 'fit' me. Guess too much crotch rock feel to it. I had two Goldwings (prior to owning a Spyder) and they felt great to me, but did not like the conversion to a trike. My 2010 and now my 2014 fit me just fine!! (and I love the new 3 cyl engine and 6 speed transmission)