Spyder Garage

Question Need Your Opinion/Help

I am new to the Spyder World and looking to buy but need your help. I have been doing research and reading the very informative threads on this site and need further input. Is the "heat issue" only on the 2013 models or is on prior years also? I am looking to buy a ST or RT model.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

Spyder Garage

The predominate heat issues are with the 13' but some previous years have heat issues as well. We have a 11' RTS and have the heat issue. As far as the ST goes, there have been a few that have stated the heat issue but were able to get BRP to swap their plastics out for an upgraded version which apparently flows the heat away better and those riders have stated that it has helped from what I have read.
    2007 M109R LE - To many MODS to list. Its cheaper that way!!!

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

There's actually two different issues with heat.
    The most serious one, is pretty unique to the 2013 RT & ST models. Exhaust heat would actually melt important componenets underneath the bodywork...
    The second; is one of the perception of heat by the rider... Some folks swear that the heat coming from the radiator was causing blisters.
    The troubling thing about this one; it's tough to assess any one persons' perception of heat. What were they wearing, and under what conditions were they riding.
    The 2013s are GREAT bikes; just make sure that the updates have been performed. It also is a good idea to add some insulating material around the gas tank, and also wrapping the exhaust system is a good idea.
    2010 RT A&C, RT-L, RT-L , Orbital Blue, Cognac, Jet Black

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by DakotaRae View Post