Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Bearing Pieces in oil

I am new to the Spyderlovers.com but a regular visitor the last 3 years or so. Great forum and please keep up the great work.
    About 2 weeks ago I heard noises from the front sprocket. I decided to do an oil change before a long ride. I found bearing pieces in my oil drain plug. Even for a novice like me knew that was not good. I am attempting to do the job myself after two shops told me it will cost between $5000 - $8000 to replace the bearing. I laughed and told them I will do it myself. So here I am half way into the job and I need some info in setting the TDC on the timing gear. Any help would be great and thank you.

1. Do I need to set TDC before I took the balance shaft and timing gear off?
    2. Does the fly wheel have to come off before I split the case?
    3. Can I pull the case from the clutch side and leave the other side intact?
    4. Appreciate any tips and advice you can give this novice?

ThanksP7160253.jpgP7160257.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

If you found bearing-bits in the oil; they might have travelled through the engine to get there ...
    I'm way less of a mechanic than you... all I can say is be careful, and
    2010 RT A&C, RT-L, RT-L , Orbital Blue, Cognac, Jet Black

Spyder Garage

Best tip I can give is find a Factory Service Manual before proceeding if you don't have one for your bike.
    2013 Mag Silver SE5 RT BahaRon Sway bar & Sway bar links, Grip Puppies, Kuryakyn Helmet locks , Ultimate Seat w/Utopia Backrest, Dash power outlet, Spyderpops BumpSkid, Swagman Cup holders, Full size Brake Pedal, Seal DLX Floorboards, Freeway Blaster horns, Sylvania Super Bright fender LEDs, Scotchlite 680 Rear & Fender Reflectors, BRP Fog Light Kit, LED Mirror turn signal strips, 2014 RT grille mod. Outlaw Laser Alignment

Spyder Garage