Spyder Garage

Default New ST Owner Saying Hello

Hi guys, just wanted to say hello, I have been reading the forum for the last couple months. I am new to motorcycling and the Spyder, I just recently took my MSF course and purchased my Spyder last week. I picked it up yesterday, 2013 ST SM5, Pure Magnesium color, only added the new BRP passenger backrest so far. Got a great deal with the rebates and extra warranties on the 2013, was cheaper than most used ones I saw. Had my first ride yesterday about 70 miles home from the dealer, handles nicely, but my inexperience with the clutch on the manual version is pretty evident, stalled it more times than I care to say. I have a short 5 mile mostly back road commute to work, so hopefully between a few travels back and forth and some parking lot practice, I will be comfortable with the clutch and taking off from a stop without stalling soon. I'm sure I'll have more questions, once I get going, but hopefully no issue. Thanks for all the info in the forums.

Spyder Garage

& welcome to the group.

Spyder Garage

Congrats and welcome!!! You picked a good one. Everyone knows the ST's are the best but most won't admit it
    2017 Chevrolet Camaro SS convertible. 2017 GMC Sierra cc diesel. 2017 Arctic cat RR 137 ES

Registered Users
    Spyder Garage

Congrats on your new bike! I bought the same one a couple months ago, even the same color. So far I've added a backrest, fox adjustable shocks, and the bajaron swaybar and helm links. The suspension upgrades have been the most noticeable. Its much more stable than it was stock. I added a phone mount too. Initially I stalled it quite a bit too, as my old bike is a Harley and I wasnt used to throttling up so much before releasing the clutch, Harleys run at much lower RPM's than the Spyder's Rotax. Dont be afraid to give it some gas, these bikes dont lose traction easily. Big rear tire and lots of weight there.