Spyder Garage

Default Kumho Ecsta rear tire pressure

I'm having a Kumho rear tire installed on Wednesday. BRP recommends 28 psi for the stock rear. Was wondering if anyone else that has this tire runs it at 28 since it is the same size as OEM, or does another psi work better with the Kumho?

2014 Cognac RT-S SE6 "Rusty"

Spyder Garage

I have mine at 30 psi. But you may want to experiment. Start at 28 then see..... just saying.

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default KUMHO

I've been using car tires for a few years now on my Spyders, Kumho & Federal Altimax......I have a GS and an RSS , I ride solo and usually go with 20 lbs. cold ........These tire 's have much stiffer sidewalls so they ride better on less pressure ............JMHO.....Mike

Spyder Garage

Default RECOMMENDED PRESURE

so i've been using the Michelin Hydroedge I bought after 9200 miles (now at almost 28000) running 28 psi, but the manufacturers give recommended pressures based on the vehicles they designed them to run on, cars, at 35. Bought some Futuras from Pepboys for the fronts designed to run at least 32, and I run them at 18, just so it's not like a buckboard. Curious what others have to say about running tires at lower pressures than manufacturers suggest.
    2012 RT A&C bought new 42312 sold July 2018 56k miles currently driving a 2014 RTSE6 LTD bought October 2018 w 6800 miles nicely farkled
    2014 RT SE6 LTD , White

Spyder Garage

Default Little checking..!!

you should start with the recommended pressure and then find what works best for you. If big boned plus weight of RT compared to small compact you could split the difference on tire recommended pressure. But running on the lower side would seem best..jmho...
    Gene and Ilana De Laney
    Mt. Helix, California

​2012 RS sm5
    2012 RS sm5 , 998cc V-Twin 106hp DIY brake and park brake Classic Black

Spyder Garage