Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Question New and need advice

Hi, I am new to this and would like advice from this group. I am planning on retiring within the next year and would like to be able to tour on a bike, (trike). My wife will not ride on a two wheeler at all. Since I plan on almost always being 2 up, would you recommend a traditional trike or the Spyder. I am leaning towards the Spyder, but... I am also reading that the Spyder is uncomfortable for a passenger and the seat get too hot for extended riding, etc. Is this the case and is there anything thing you would do differently if you could do it over? With my wife, I probably only have one shot at this and want to get it right.

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Ken117 View Post
    Hi, I am new to this and would like advice from this group. I am planning on retiring within the next year and would like to be able to tour on a bike, (trike). My wife will not ride on a two wheeler at all. Since I plan on almost always being 2 up, would you recommend a traditional trike or the Spyder. I am leaning towards the Spyder, but... I am also reading that the Spyder is uncomfortable for a passenger and the seat get too hot for extended riding, etc. Is this the case and is there anything thing you would do differently if you could do it over? With my wife, I probably only have one shot at this and want to get it right.
    Get a spyder RT. You won't be disappointed. I haven't had any heat problems.
    2015 RTS Ltd Spyderpops bumpskid, Dual Isci Hand Brake ,Baker Wind Wings

2016 Polaris Slingshot SL

Spyder Garage

My wife told me she would go 2 up only we got a Spyder. She is 6 ft and is comfortable on it. We have not gone on any cross country trips - only day rides so take this info as such. We have done as much as two to three hundred miles in a day. Ours is a 2012 RT and as such we stop a lot for gas That gives us a few minutes to stretch. We don't have any heat issues.