Thread: Starting issue

Spyder Garage

Default Starting issue

I have a problem with my 2008 RS that I haven't heard anyone else having. If I stall my Spyder by releasing the clutch a little too fast (or for whatever reason), when I try to restart it again, it won't start. It turns over for an instant and then stops dead. I've also noticed that when this happens, I usually smell gas. I don't get any error messages and other than this, it runs great. Through trial and error, I have discovered that if I let it set for 30 to 60 seconds before trying again, it will usually start right up. I'm no mechanic, but I know these computers are real sensitive and I'm guessing that it won't start until the fuel vapors have time to dissipate. I bought my Spyder new and I haven't done any mods that involve the engine (juice box etc). I've got about 28,000 miles on my Spyder and never had this problem until a few months ago. I've taken it to 2 dealers and neither of them can find a problem. The last one tried to tell me it was a loose battery connection and they tightened the connections. But the very next day, it happened again. The battery has been tested and proved to be good. This is frustrating because if I'm riding with a group and this happens as the group is leaving somewhere, I don't want to hold them up or have to try catching up with them when it finally starts. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Rick
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Spyder Garage

Arrow

Sounds like it is in a flooded condition due to the stall. Try going WOT when starting after a stall. jm2c

Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Jerbear View Post
    Sounds like it is in a flooded condition due to the stall. Try going WOT when starting after a stall. jm2c