Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Registered Users
    Spyder Garage

Default 2012 RT limited gas mileage issue

I'm new to the spyder owners group after riding HD and other brands since high school. I took a test drive a year ago and a couple more during the year and decided this would be a great touring bike that I could just relax and really enjoy the ride going cross country. Well I was given a offer on a new 2012 RT limited that I couldn't refuse.
    On the way home with it I didn't have second thoughts but I was concerned because it was different from what I was used to. The more I rode it the more I like it, but I was not falling in love. I went for a ride the the other day and all of a sudden it all clicked, I found myself not having to think about driving it and started riding it. The light came on.
    Its like flying a fixed wing airplane then flying a helicopter, your still up in the air but the technique is different.
    All I can say is if you have any doubts just give it a chance, you won't regret it.
    I really enjoy the RT and have no regrets, the only issue I have is the poor gas mileage. I like to go cross country on back roads and gas stations can be spread out.
    This is kinda scary since this is why I really wanted this bike to begin with.
    Any ideas on how to get better mileage? Can anything be done I filled up today again and I only got 20 mpg around town and around 25 mpg freeway at 65-70 mph.

Spyder Garage

Default 2012 RT limited gas mileage issue

weclome to the family . I get 32mi per gal. but I keep it around 55mi on the highway and I use the high grade Ican find about 92 octane, and I get better mileage I find.in my 2012 rtspg logo.jpg3660R.jpgIMG_3261.jpgIMG_3589.jpgIMG_2618.jpg I only get 4 mi per gal.with this toy with 110 octane ,you only live once,

550 hp under the hood.

Registered Users
    Spyder Garage