Spyder Garage

Question spyder key placement...just curious

I've seen a couple of pictures showing the place to put the key in the ignition is not in the middle of the bars but further up. Did the earlier spyders have a different place for the ignition or was this a mod? If it is a mod, what was the purpose of it?

Spyder Garage

I've been riding Spyders for four years now and have yet to see a key in between the handlebars .
    Happy Owner

Spyder Garage

maybe, I am not saying it right...but look at this picture which to me is the place that all spyder keys go. I consider that the middle of the handle bar.

Spyder Garage

Default and this is what I meant by some had the ignition further up...

sorry for stealing your pic Lamonster but it is just to show what I mean. No copyright infringement.

SpyderLovers Sponsor Motorcycledave's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default Key placement

Quote Originally Posted by Laila's Dad View Post
    I've seen a couple of pictures showing the place to put the key in the ignition is not in the middle of the bars but further up. Did the earlier spyders have a different place for the ignition or was this a mod? If it is a mod, what was the purpose of it?
    This is the way the ignition is moved after installing Heli Bar riser on my 2008 GS

Dave

Spyder Garage

Default Thank you!

Thank you cycleDave...I thought I was going crazy. so these helibar risers are they different from regular risers? Is that why the ignition is moved or is that just a preferance?

SpyderLovers Sponsor Motorcycledave's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default Ignition moved because

Quote Originally Posted by Laila's Dad View Post
    Thank you cycleDave...I thought I was going crazy. so these helibar risers are they different from regular risers? Is that why the ignition is moved or is that just a preferance?
    Hi
    If you look at the photos... you will notice that the handle bars are 5.5 in. higher and 5.5 in. farther back.