Spyder Garage

Default One month old...

Well, our 2012 RT/AC has now been in our garage for 1 month and after 1,000 miles, I thought I'd saw my thoughts on the bike.

First, a little about me: I'm a MSF motorcycle instructor, so I get to ride lots of bikes. I currently own a Suzuki Hayabusa, Honda RC-51, Honda Interceptor, and Honda VTX1300. I bought the Sypder only so my wife could ride with me-she refuses to ride on the back of the sport bikes (I wonder why?). IN any case, after riding on the back of the RT, she LOVES it! And if she's happy, then I'm happy! LOL Am I ready to give up 2 wheels? Not a chance. Is it as much fun to ride as my Hayabusa? Well, probably not-but then again they are 2 different types of bikes. So far I enjoy the comfort of the bike and am finally getting use to the way it handles. Heat on our legs is an issue, but it really doesn't stay that hot here in Western New York all that much so we'll deal with it for now. I"m finding the attention it gets out on the road a little embarrassing, but she gets a chuckle out of the attention, so I'll live with it. For me, I'd rather be riding under the radar, not on it!

So, that's my $.02. I'm a little ticked off that we just missed the promotion of an extra 2 years of the warranty, but I guess there really is nothing that can be done about that! Besides, sometimes, I just like to find things to be po'ed about! We're taking the Spyder on a few longer "day-trips" later this summer, so I"ll post more comments after that time. I haven't yet talked her into some over night trips-she's not sure there's enough room to take all her stuff? I guess it's harder for a women to pack light??

BTW--I love this site--I've learned lots. Thanks all--and stay safe out there!

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Glad to hear that your better half is enjoying the pillion! No doubt; when they're happy, our lives work out much better!
    So when is she going to grab the bars and start piloting it?