Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Maybe moving to a Spyder RS???

Hi! Some of you are familiar faces, some are not, but I've come to solicit some input.

We have a 1997 Honda Valkyrie that we have been tossing around the idea of triking for me...and we've also looked at the Spyders. Money is not an issue, it's more of style, safety, features and comfort decision. We ride anywhere from a few hundred miles on a weekend to a bike vacation of 2,000+ miles.

Did a test ride of the RT last Fall. It was nice, not really "me" and the ride was, well, interesting, different but not in a bad way. I have been riding 2 wheels for the past 8 years and I realize either bike is going to take some time to get used to.

I do plan to ride an RS this spring (when it stops raining!) to take another assessment of the Spyder. I think the seating position will be better for me and I like the sportier look of the bike.

It will primarily be my ride however I'm sure we'll do some 2-up riding as well.

Questions - we have an Escapade trailer. Have you all had any issues in getting other equipment compatible with the Spyder? Of course, the dealer wanted us to buy the matching trailer... No issues with us doing a little electrical work (on the trailer), just wanted to hear any horror stories.

Seems to be some recalls with these bikes. Anything serious that I should be aware or concerned about?

Anything that we're missing? Any/all comments, suggestions and input are welcome.

TIA

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Welcome to our little slice of the universe, Tia!
    You've landed in the right place and we'll try to answer whatever questions you have...
    Two wheels up front vs two wheels out back... No question about this one; The Spyders handle way better than any conventional trike!
    "Conventionals" will often tend to push the front wheel if cornering speeds get a bit too frisky... (Understeer...)