Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Mobil 1 racing 4T oil in the Spyder!!!!

Just wanted to worn everyone that uses or is thinking of useing Mobil 1 racing 4T motorcycle oil for wet clutch aplications. We are not supposed to use an API SM rated oil in our Spyders for our clutch system. Mobil 1 racing 4T moturcycle oil has just switched to this API SM rating. If you look on the shelves you may find the old version or the new version but you will not know unless you look at the API specks on the back. The bottles look identical. I bought 4-quarts at Auto-Zone and had two of each. I went back and all was API SM. They said they were the newest and I got the last of the older ones. I do not want to get into all the info about API codes but all you have to do is put in Amsoil, Rotella, Mobil 1, etc. in the search and you can read all you need to.

If some may wonder why not the API SM, it can cause some clutch slippage in the Spyder. I am not an expert but some say not to use it in any wet clutch application and this makes me wonder why Mobil 1 racing 4T has went this direction. I guess this could be a misprint on the bottles at my Auto-Zone but I would not think so, anything is possible.

States We Have Been To On Our Spyder

My mods: Green filter, Air box mod., Muzzy exhaust, Cat Bypass, Exhaust Heat Wraped, Powder coated all Bare Metal surfaces, Capt. Jim`s Belt Tensioner, Custom Built Highway Pegs, Elka front shocks, RS-S rear shock, 2011 smaller windshield, Dynojet PowercommanderV & Autotune, NGK iridiom DCPR9IEX spark plugs, Maxxis MA-Z4S Victra rear tire, General Altimax HP 185/60R14 front tires, Corbin seat & backrest, BRP hitch. I need to stop!

Spyder Garage

This is good to know. Thanks for the info. I was seriously thinking of going that way. But then I did some research and read all the great reviews about Amsoil, so I linked up with Ken and went with the Amsoil, and I'm glad I did. This is AMAZING stuff. Both bikes just love it!