Registered Users
    Spyder Garage

Default My dad wants one so I have some questions

Greetings,

While sitting around and watching march madness with my dad we have seen a few commericals for the spyder and he thought they were cool and started looking at one.

Now I've been riding sportbikes for a few years now (currently riding a ducati 848) but my dad has never been on a bike in his life. Is a spyder appropriate for a first time rider? It's on 3 wheels instead of 2 but how much like a true bike does it handle? (ie countersteering to make turns, leaning the bike etc) And whats with all the steering problems? (seen it refered to as the DPS problem) does it happen on all models?

haha guess im concerned for the ole guy and want to make sure he's making the right choice instead of being impulsive. That being said there is a factory event in my area this weekend and we will be attending and im sure I can get all my questions answered there, but I'd rather hear it firsthand from current owners.

Any and all insights would be appreciated

Ride safe!

Spyder Garage

Im 71 and just got a rts but have been riding motorcycles all my life but some people have never been on a mc at all and ride after they retire all love it.Rider safety cource is recomended but probable mandatory hope he goes for it he will love it

2010 RTS-SE, Orbital Blue
    Spyder Garage

My wife took the motorcycle safety course and gor her license 9 years ago. She has never been on a bike except to sit behind me. Never wanted her own bike even though I offered many times to buy her one. She loves the Spyder and feels totally comfortable on the road. It does not handle like a motorcycle but it is a blast. Go for it I think he will love the Spyder.

Spyder Garage

I had no previous experience, took a demo ride, and with in 5 minutes knew I had to have one.
    My wife said I could only have one toy, so I got rid of one of my cars and used the $ to pay cash for it. I would have got the