Spyder Garage

Default Ride feel - should I set-up for 2-up now or get used to solo first?

I am new to riding and this is true of three wheels also. I have a new 2023 S2S. I am 5’ 7” and 174 lbs. My wife is considerable bigger then me. We will be riding two up. Question is, should I set up the bike with new sway bar and shocks now and get used to driving this way from the start. I will be getting Ron’s sway bar soon.
    Last edited by Peter Aawen; 09-27-2023 at 06:29 PM. Reason: Expanded title to briefly ask the question... ;-)

Spyder Garage

My standard answer is to put at least 1,000 miles on your Spyder before doing anything to it. This will help you get used to the machine and will also cement ideas as to what you like and what you don't like. Then you can target aftermarket products to address what you want to improve with realistic expectations and an understanding of what you are doing. It will also give you a very good understanding of exactly what each modification is doing (or not doing) for you.

While this approach is not ideal for everyone (some want a sway bar or whatever right away for good reasons like they are going on a 4,000 mile trip and don't want to suffer that long). The only (and rare) customers that tell me they didn't notice much difference with a sway bar upgrade were those who only had a few miles on their Spyder before doing it. They didn't really have a baseline to compare the before and after. I prefer thrilled customers. Not 'Oh Well' customers. And I'm sure the customer feels the same.

If you need any information. You can always call the shop at 423-609-7588 and speak with myself or Daniel. Our primary goal is to help, not to sell. Selling you something that won't make you happy isn't doing anyone any good. But you are on the right track. Asking before buying makes for a better experience.

You're going to LOVE your Spyder!
    Last edited by BajaRon; 09-27-2023 at 02:57 PM.
    Shop Ph: 423-609-7588 (M-F, 8-5, Eastern Time)