Spyder Garage

Default Is it worth taking the Can Am riding class?

I've been riding my Spyder RT for close to 2 years now, following almost 40 years riding 2 wheels. I had no trouble getting used to the Spyder after the years of motorcycling on two wheels (other than to stop riding in the left third of the lane as I always did on 2 wheels) and couldn't find anywhere around that was offering a trike class of any kind. I'm still not sure if I could find a Can Am sponsored class, but wondered if there would be any value at this point in taking such a class.
    2021 Spyder RT
    Retired U.S. Army
    Life Member, NRA
    2021 RT , Petrol (blue)

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by vito1943 View Post
    I've been riding my Spyder RT for close to 2 years now, following almost 40 years riding 2 wheels. I had no trouble getting used to the Spyder after the years of motorcycling on two wheels (other than to stop riding in the left third of the lane as I always did on 2 wheels) and couldn't find anywhere around that was offering a trike class of any kind. I'm still not sure if I could find a Can Am sponsored class, but wondered if there would be any value at this point in taking such a class.
    I recommend the training classes to people all the time, so there’s no doubt I’m a believer in them for the Spyder/Ryker and two wheels too. However, in my personal opinion, if you’ve been riding a Spyder nearly two years now you’ll likely learn nothing new in regards to the Spyder itself. But, if you’ve never taken a rider safety course I’d still recommend it even with your 40 years of experience ‘cause all us old dogs can still learn a new trick or two. Then there’s the perk that most insurance companies offer a discount if you’ve taken a rider safety course.
    2021 Spyder RT Limited (Sea-To-Sky)
    2022 Ryker Rally

Spyder Garage