Spyder Garage

Default New owner impressions

I bought a new 2022 Ryker 900 ACE on Saturday (2/25/23) and have about 50 miles on it (rainy and cold here...got caught in a downpour yesterday afternoon!). I've been riding MCs for 40+ years, and also a 2012 Can AM Outlander 1000 since new. I did a brief Can Am (spyder or ryker I can't recall) demo around the parking lot at the Sportsman's Show here in Sacramento some years back, and would admire them in the showroom when getting parts for my Outlander. Out of the blue I started looking at them early last week - I can't recall the impetus. So - I'm here to relay my thoughts as a new owner. Much of what I say may sound familiar to you who recall when you first got one, and may be encouraging to those pondering getting one.

Appearance - a sexy works of engineering. I find it very appealing and it makes me smile when I see it - a wild design that actually made it to production. The matte finish most everywhere, the single-nut hubs, beefy swing-arm, and low stance are all "industrial sheik" in my view.
    Engineering - since I got my Outlander, I appreciate Cam Am engineering details (I'd had a Kawasaki KFX400 and Polaris Sportsman for comparison). The engines are "no foolin" in design and performance, everything fits into a compact chassis/body without any unnecessary/ugly affectations.

Both the appearance and engineering are "sano" if you will.

Performance - well I can't really experience that yet as its not broken-in, but thus far I can tell it will be a hoot! I have tested the Eco, Standard, and Sport modes on my wet streets - fun!
    Riding - good grief, its so cool I'm surprised its even allowed in this state! Its akin to riding an ATV on the street. Seeing the front wheels spinning and turning "right there!" resembles a cockpit cam from F1 or Indy racing. I'm trying get it in my head as to dodging road hazards with all three wheels (trying to make such pass under either foot seems about right).