Spyder Garage

Default Looking to buy - is Limp Mode really a problem?

Good day,
    I am new to the spyder world and looking to buy one.
    I keep hearing/reading about the limp mode problems with these.
    Are they really that problematic? Which years/models are the most dependable? I don't mind wrenching but I do mind more wrenching than riding.

Thanks in advance.

Oh, BTW I will be buying a used one. Any suggestions as to what to look out for would ok be greatly appreciated.

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

TLI: Used WHAT?
    2014 Can-Am Spyder RT-S SE6 Freeway Commuter Pod
    2016 Royal Enfield Classic 500 Fair-Weather Mountain Bike

Spyder Garage

I had a 2011 RT that went into limp mode once due to an issue with the throttle bodies. It was a known issue and fixed under warranty. My 2017 RTL has over 30k on it and has never had an issue.
    Trent - 2017 asphalt grey RT Limited,
    Ultimate Seat, Baha Ron’s sway bar, Vredestine rear tire, Federal Formoza fronts, SlingMod’s LED head and fog lights, Lamonster’s highway pegs

HE>I
    2017 RT , Asphalt Grey

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Truittm View Post
    Good day,
    I am new to the spyder world and looking to buy one.
    I keep hearing/reading about the limp mode problems with these.
    Are they really that problematic? Which years/models are the most dependable? I don't mind wrenching but I do mind more wrenching than riding.

Thanks in advance.

Oh, BTW I will be buying a used one. Any suggestions as to what to look out for would ok be greatly appreciated.
    I've owned three Spyder a GG , an RSS and a 14 RT ..... the GS went into LIMP mode once .... it was 99 degree's ....it actually cleared itself after it cooled down and was fine after that ... over 100,000 mi and only once ....that to me is not a problem ..... JMHO ....Mike

Spyder Garage