Spyder Garage

Default Interesting video on helmet safety.

Something I did know about.

https://youtu.be/76yu124i3Bo

2018 F3 LIMITED

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

When I started riding 40+ years ago, the controversy between DOT and Snell was presented to me as a matter of SPEED.

Think of it this way: If you place an object in a padded container and move the entire assembly into a barrier, the object will deform the padding a bit and hopefully survive intact. If you move it into the barrier at a higher speed, the padding will not be able to absorb the impact, your object might not survive. You need to install padding that is more dense to do that job.

Now, if you use that denser padding at the lower speed, it will not deform enough to absorb the impact, and you may as well not have it there at all.

Now apply the two different paddings to helmets. A DOT-spec helmet will likely be used at 'normal' road speeds, say 80 mph or less, so can use a less-dense padding. At race speeds, that padding would not be enough, so a Snell-spec helmet would have denser padding. However, that Snell-spec helmet would be too stiff to absorb the impact at lower speeds.

I know that there are newer Snell ratings that probably blow all this out of the water, but any way you look at it, ... ANY helmet is better than none at all.

HER ride:
    2017 RT-S SE6 Pearl White

My rides:
    2000 Honda GL1500SE
    1980 Suzuki GS850G

Spyder Garage

No reflection on the above posters, just a reminder to keep the discussion friendly in a known hot button topic.

Currently Owned: 2019 F3 Limited, 2020 F3 Limited: SOLD BOTH LIMITEDS in October of 2023.

Previously : 2008 GS-SM5 (silver), 2009 RS-SE5 (red), 2010 RT-S Premier Editon #474 (black) 2011 RT A&C SE5 (magnesium) 2014 RTS-SE6 (yellow)

MY FINAL TALLY: 7 Spyders, 15 years, 205,500 miles

IT HAS BEEN A LONG, WONDERFUL, AND FUN RIDE.
    2020 F3L , Magma Red

Spyder Garage