Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default excessive vibration in handlebars or is it me?

I only have 500 miles on the bike so far, so I am not an expert by any stretch. Most of my riding is in the boondocks and I travel at the posted speed limit :P I've only owned it for a little over 3 weeks.

Here is my question, while riding to a distance about 30 minutes away, hands got tingly. Did another ride at about 40 minutes one way, hands got tingly. Is this normal? I talked to some guys who ride bikes and it was a mixed bag, some said yeah it's normal and other said that it never happens to them (mix between harley and sport bikes), but a lot more said it isn't normal for them. I didn't get all their riding experiences for reference, just things at gas stations and people in parking lots..

I didn't want to buy any add ons for the bike until I was sure I had a feel for it. I just don't know if the foam grip things are worth the time or money.

Oh, I don't wear gloves. My rally has the hand guards from the factory. I don't know if gloves would make a big difference or not, and I am not sure if I would like wearing gloves in the summer. I also don't know if the foam would lessen my feel on the grip while accelerating out of turns.

Side note:
    I have watched the bike at idle and there is a lot of vibration in the handle bar while parked. From every video of a ryker I have watched, this appears normal. I was travelling down a sparsely driven road and decided to check it at speeds of 30-45 mph, vibration present in bars at that speed too, but not as much as at idle and parked.

Wild thought:
    Any chance they might make a rally 1200? I would like a little more oomph. The bike is fun as it is but it could be......funner

Spyder Garage

I have about the same miles as you on my Ryker...So far no issues with any handlebar vibration on mine while riding...It does vibrate at idle...Btw, I wear gloves...

Spyder Garage