Spyder Garage

Default Newbie here, hoping to join the 3-wheel world!

I don't know, I went nearly 40 years without any interest in bikes of any sort, then it hit me. For assorted reasons a trike seems like the way to go for me at the moment, and while I looked at the Spyder I think I'm leaning Ryker at the moment.

I don't see any really big road trips in my immediate future, but I do have a pretty nice, mostly rural 30 mile round trip commute daily in Western NC that I think could be enjoyed in the open air.

Getting licensed is going to be the hard part it seems, the local DMV wasn't a pleasure to deal with even before Covid upended things. I think the nearest office that does road testing is an hour away. I'd be very interested in taking a class, but I'm pretty sure the closest 3-wheel one is TWO hours away.

I guess I'm going to have to go to an office to get some info on the process, can't get them on the phone and unless I completely fail at searching - the NC Motorcyclists Handbook does not even state what the restrictions are for driving with a learners permit.

Bureaucracy aside, I'm pretty excited to get started. I'm apparently not the only one. Took a drive to East Tennessee ATV last weekend to check out some Can-Ams in person, and every one on the floor was already spoken for.
    2021 , Galactic Blue

Spyder Garage

Keep us updated. Test drive a couple models to see which suits your needs the best. A new Ryker can be had for around $10K. The Spyders are twice that.

Currently Owned: 2019 F3 Limited, 2020 F3 Limited: SOLD BOTH LIMITEDS in October of 2023.

Previously : 2008 GS-SM5 (silver), 2009 RS-SE5 (red), 2010 RT-S Premier Editon #474 (black) 2011 RT A&C SE5 (magnesium) 2014 RTS-SE6 (yellow)

MY FINAL TALLY: 7 Spyders, 15 years, 205,500 miles

IT HAS BEEN A LONG, WONDERFUL, AND FUN RIDE.
    2020 F3L , Magma Red

Very Active Member CopperSpyder's Avatar
    Spyder Garage