Spyder Garage

Default IdahoMtnSpyder question about 1099's

Since you started another thread about taxes, I didn't want to interrupt.

I have a few annuities. One was a rollover from a 401K many years ago. My other annuity was started with money from my checking account; it's this annuity that I have the question. My gf thinks that I should not be getting a 1099R for that annuity b/c it was started with my own money, and it doesn't include dividends, and I'm only getting my money back. I said that I can actually get more than my money back than the initial amount, if I live long enough. Also, depending on the stock market, my fixed monthly payment could actually increase (not very likely). My question is, am I right about why I get a 1099R each year?

Thanks

Something just came to me as I was working out. The reason I get the 1099R is I was earning 7%/year before I started drawing on it. I think I answered my own question.

Very Active Member IdahoMtnSpyder's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

I can't say for absolute certainty but when you draw money out of any retirement fund you will get a 1099. If the fund is a Roth IRA so the earnings aren't taxable I'm sure you'll still get a 1099. Even when I didn't personally withdraw some funds out my Federal TSP but had some rolled over non-taxable to a Vanguard IRA I got 1099s showing the rollover.

2014 Copper RTS

Tri-Axis bars, CB, BajaRon sway bar & shock adjusters, SpyderPop's Bumpskid, NBV peg brackets, LED headlights and modulator, Wolo trumpet air horns, trailer hitch, custom trailer harness, high mount turn signals, Custom Dynamics brake light, LED turn signal lights on mirrors, LED strip light for a dash light, garage door opener, LED lights in frunk, trunk, and saddlebags, RAM mounts and cradles for tablet (for GPS) and phone (for music), and Smooth Spyder belt tensioner.
    2014 RTS , Copper! (officially Cognac)

Spyder Garage