Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Planning a trip

Spyder Garage

Default Planning a trip

I have a 2014 Spyder RT Limited and am considering a trip in the Spring from my home in the Burlington area of North Carolina up to the Fairfield county area of Connecticut where I used to live.

It's about a 600 mile trip and I am planning to stay away from the I-95 corridor and stay inland , all good interstate. I am planning on breaking it up into a two day trip doing about 300 miles each day.
    Is this realistic ?
    I have never done a long motorcycle trip before but it is my feeling that this machine with all of it's comforts including cruise control should make a 300 mile day in good weather not a problem but I am seeking the advise of those that have done it before.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Pete

Spyder Garage

I take trips to my sons cabin which is 450 mile trip in one day. It takes about 7 hours which is a long day of riding. The Spyder is very capable of the trip. The big question is whether you are.
    Have fun.

Spyder Garage

300 miles a day is easily done on an RT. I would stop every 90 minutes or so just to stretch and stay hydrated and alert. Interstates bore the crap out of me personally, so I don't ride them. IF I was doing a trip like this, I would take state highways and county highways and avoid the big roads. If you're gonna break it up, you might as well see some scenery other than concrete and asphalt. Just my two pennies.
    2021 RT Limited

2016 RTS , Pearl White

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Mazo EMS2 View Post