Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Thinking of buying a Spyder RT

Hello All,
    I am a brand new newbie. A little background, I am 66 years old or young, been riding all kinds of motorcycles since I was about 20. I currently own 2 Goldwings, and a Harley Softail Duece. I am thinking of selling the 2 Wings and purchase a Spyder RT for two up riding. I went to the local dealer here in Daytona, and they have a left over 2019 and of course the 2020. I like the 2020 better, but have not seen a limited chrome, looks like the front wheels are not all chrome, that may be a deal maker for me, or just save $$$ and go dark, LOL. I am scheduled for a test ride during bike week,(next week Now I am thinking of buying a slightly used one and saving lots of money. What should I be looking for. Also I am a big man, 6'3" and about 270 lbs. The 2020fit me better but I think with some aftermarket items a used one would also work. Any input on this is appreciated. I realize there will be a big learning curve going to 3 wheels. Also should I look at the Spyder F3 limited, not sure of all the differences. Like I said I am a newbie, just need educated before I pull the trigger. Thanks, Kim

Spyder Garage

Good Day Kim,

Well, you've offered us a lot to comment on. First, I'm in the same old boat, so to speak. Just turned 75 (still haven't grown up however) and have been riding since the 1960s. I transitioned from large and heavy two wheel tourers (sport tourers really) to a 2015 Spyder RT-S and don't regret the change for a moment. I bought it used with a whopping 436 miles on the odometer and the savings over buying new gave me a great excuse to spend on enhancements. Mine is the dark model and although I wasn't in love with it being all black and black and black, I've added PPA chrome front wheels (with Vrederstein Quatrac 5 tires) and some tasteful (in my opinion) Wrap My Spyder trim pieces and now I do love it.