Spyder Garage

Default 2019 RT-L temp gauge

I’m a newbie to Can-Am so this is likely a dumb question, but here goes. The temperature gauge on my 2019 RT-L varies between 57 and 62 degrees. I thought this was an ambient temperature, but they don’t agree with what the air temperature is. Can somebody set me straight on this?

Spyder Garage

If you're going down the road, the temp will read 6-7 degrees higher than the actual air temperature just due to where the sensor is located under the bodywork. Sitting or in the sun,,,, it could be anything...
    07 Shadows, Aero, Spirit gone but not forgotten
    03 Harley Sportster, 07 RK moved on
    11 RT- 76,000 mi, 15 RT-S- 44,000 mi, traded for current 15 base RT and 16 F3T
    2015 RT , OEM Black Gloss

Spyder Garage

That Temperature Indicator on the dash is really a fairly lame attempt to try & kid people into thinking they've got something of benefit. It's not a true 'ambient air temp' indicator, but it does sorta maybe get somewhere close..... some of the time!!

The reason for the vagueness in the indicated temp is that the sensor IS mounted under all the tupperware & partly above the engine, where the sun shining on the tupperwareheats up the box its all encased inside & the heat percolating up from the engine will (usually) get trapped in the same box & make the display read somewhat higher than ambient temps - but it is in an area that gets a fair bit of air flow so the cooling effect from that will come into play too. Regardless, it is what it is, and for most, having some idea of the temperature, albeit most likely a bit high, seems to be more comforting than just ignoring the temperature entirely.... at least until said temp, be it hot or cold, has an adverse impact on your ryding!

So juuust Ride More, Worry Less - if your knees are in the breeze and they're not being burnt or frozen off, does the specific temperature really matter?!

2013 RT Ltd Pearl White

Ryde More, Worry Less!

Spyder Garage