Spyder Garage

Default 2014 Spyder RS: Opinions needed

Hi, I have seen a: 2014 Spyder RS for sale at: $9,500 firm with 1,325 miles. Viewing the photos it looks like it is in mint condition. I am assuming it is a v-twin 100hp which may be a deal breaker for me. I do like the 3 cylinder.
    Any input you can provide on this would be helpful because I am new to the Spyder world. Any issues with the 2014 spyder I should be aware of? Relibility issues, recalls, etc. Your opinion on price etc.

Thank you in advance,

Frank

Spyder Garage

The RS has the 998 twin cylinder engine. Many on SL prefer that 1330 engine to the 998. The RS is discontinued and that is why the lower price. The low mileage is a plus...provided it has not been driven due to mechanical difficulties.

I would recommend having a dealer do a VIN search for you. It will give the mechanical history. It should have at least had the initial oil change service at 650 miles. Five years old and no more services could be a little bit of an issue.
    Last edited by ARtraveler; 11-28-2019 at 02:19 PM.

Currently Owned: 2019 F3 Limited, 2020 F3 Limited: SOLD BOTH LIMITEDS in October of 2023.

Previously : 2008 GS-SM5 (silver), 2009 RS-SE5 (red), 2010 RT-S Premier Editon #474 (black) 2011 RT A&C SE5 (magnesium) 2014 RTS-SE6 (yellow)

MY FINAL TALLY: 7 Spyders, 15 years, 205,500 miles

IT HAS BEEN A LONG, WONDERFUL, AND FUN RIDE.
    2020 F3L , Magma Red

Very Active Member CopperSpyder's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Below is My Opinion
    Price is high is it an SE5 or SM5? Mileage is low for a 6 year old bike and that is not always a good thing when its that low (1325). Use Caution and try and work the price down, a lot to think about. With just the info you provide and nothing more to go on I would tell my friend to run away from it. So a 2014 RS SM5 with 1,325 miles no upgrades $9500.00 firm is what you are saying (6 years old ). NADA $14,899 when new; $6,145 low retail now; $8,085 Average retail now.