Spyder Garage

Question Is there a difference in Battery Tenders?

I am a new owner getting ready to put it away for winter storage. Looking to buy a battery tender but they seem to run quite a price range. The "Battery Tender" brand one is about $25 on Amazon ($20 on Black Friday at Tru Value) while the Optimate one is over $50. The guy on FortNine (YouTube) mentions the need for the tender to cycle the battery instead of just a float charge. Is there really an importatant different in the battery tenders? Usually I subscribe to the "you get what you pay for" mantra but if the cheaper one will do the trick than I will go with that. But if there is a difference, it is worth the extra $30 to keep the expensive battery working longer.

Spyder Garage

I have been using the smaller Battery Tender for many years and no battery failures. Heck, before I got that one, I was using Harbor Freights $5 one with no problems. The cycling is needed for exhausted batteries. Keep yours up and a simple float charger will do nicely.
    Ours is a red, black and chrome 2017 F3 Limited. Bought new in 2/2019. The avatar is my first bike back in 1952, a Simplex Servi-Cycle. Photo taken at the Barber Museum.
    2017 F3 Limited , Red, Black & Chrome

Spyder Garage

Battery Tender by far the best I own 10 of them never ever had a problem...

Spyder Garage

Watch amazon and Walmart. I printed out the add you are referring to for $19.00 and took it to my local true value store to make sure they would have some in stock. They are NOT honoring the add. True value "dropped" the battery tender JR. It will NOT be on sale. I looked on the true value's website too and the site for the battery tender jr no longer opens and is not listed anymore. I purchased at Walmart last week and had it delivered for $21.99 plus tax. Free shipping to local store. Just thought I'd share if you are depending on the true value black Friday add.

Spyder Garage