Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

Default Wow, even rural roads aren't safe...

2014 RTL Platinum

Spyder Garage

I see unsecured loads going down the road all the time. I haven't seen a farmer throw a strap on his hay bales or chain down equipment on a trailer for quite a while. If I did that as a professional driver, I'd be stopped in a heartbeat. Unsafe is unsafe, no matter who you are, in daylight or darkness. Give them plenty of room, just in case.
    Coke
    2015 RT-S , RED/BLACK

Spyder Garage

Same here in Utah in so far as hay bales are concerned. Always be alert, you just never know. Speaking of rural roads, Pete I was up in your neck of the woods yesterday with about 10 other riders, riding Wolf Creek Pass UT35. Great day for a ride.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Happy TRAils/NSD
    Paul

2012 RT L
    AMA 25 years Life Member
    TRA
    PGR
    Rhino Riders Plate #83
    Venturers #78
    TOI

2012 Spyder RT L , Baja Ron Plugs and wires Lava Bronze

Spyder Garage

The same thing happened to one of our previous members. He was a motorcycle cop, on duty when it happened. Obviously he survived but it banged him up.....big time.

Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

Very Active Member IdahoMtnSpyder's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

I looked at several articles about this. None of them say whether he died from injuries from the impact or from injuries when he went into the median. If it was one of the big bales I think he would have been stopped dead by the bale and thrown off his Spyder. But the article says he lost control and went into the median which makes me think it was a small bale, or the big bale broke apart. Would be nice to have more details, particularly what were the injuries that did him in.

2014 Copper RTS