Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default High pitched whine at 45 mph

I have a new 2019 F3 base model. When I start to approach 45 mph in any gear I start getting a high pitch whine that continues until I approach 50 mph. Since it's speed specific, I presume it's associated with the drive belt. I've had the whine since I bought the bike and thought it was just a "Break in" thing. I have 1000 miles on the bike now, but the whine is still occurring. I'm new to Spyder, but have been riding since the late 60s. I've had all 3 kinds of final drives, but have never experienced this whine. Is this normal for the Spyder?

Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by bcraig View Post
    I have a new 2019 F3 base model. When I start to approach 45 mph in any gear I start getting a high pitch whine that continues until I approach 50 mph. Since it's speed specific, I presume it's associated with the drive belt. I've had the whine since I bought the bike and thought it was just a "Break in" thing. I have 1000 miles on the bike now, but the whine is still occurring. I'm new to Spyder, but have been riding since the late 60s. I've had all 3 kinds of final drives, but have never experienced this whine. Is this normal for the Spyder?
    To answer your question, no.

I think you're right in assuming it's the belt.
    2018 F3 Limited , Black/Chrome

Spyder Garage

Here is a picture of the belt position in the rear sprocket. Is this alignment correct?

IMG_0340.jpg

Spyder Garage

Yes, perfect.
    The best substitute for brains & knowledge is....................silence.

Spyder Garage