Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Oem xm radio ?

  1. #1
    Thinks out loud Jeriatric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    "The Skillet" AKA..... La Quinta, Ca
    Posts
    5,107
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Question OEM XM Radio ?

    Just finished up with the install. Easy to do. Only one additional step I would add, that's not mentioned in the instructions. Remove the passengers backrest and if it is OEM i have read you should NOT push in on the screws when reinstalling the backrest, because the nut plates may dislodge.

    My question:

    I have not activated the radio and am wondering.

    Do the parentheses around (((XM))) change from 1, 2, or 3 of each on each side to denote signal strength?

    If not, is their a signal strength indicator at all.

    I ask because my Garmin 665's show signal strength.

    Thanks


    Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

  2. #2
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central VERMONT
    Posts
    13,311
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    i have the xm on my rt - there are vertical bars that show signal strength ….. I don't believe the number of parenthesis make a difference …. mike

  3. #3
    Thinks out loud Jeriatric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    "The Skillet" AKA..... La Quinta, Ca
    Posts
    5,107
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLUEKNIGHT911 View Post
    i have the xm on my rt - there are vertical bars that show signal strength ….. I don't believe the number of parenthesis make a difference …. mike
    Mike, if memory serves me, your radio is not OEM. Correct?


    Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

  4. #4
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central VERMONT
    Posts
    13,311
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jerbear View Post
    Mike, if memory serves me, your radio is not OEM. Correct?
    nope, the radio is OEM,( no added amp )… my speakers are JBL 2 ohm models …. however some members here have told me / us , that this will - should - can fry the radio ….. I have had this system for 45,000 miles and to-the-best of my knowledge the frying hasn't occurred …. quite of few folks here have also used the same JBL's and no one has reported the " frying " thing.... I'm just an audiophile not an audio engineer ….JBL / Harmon Kardon Co. actually have the Audio engineers who may not realize their speakers are defying Ohm's Law...… mike

  5. #5
    Thinks out loud Jeriatric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    "The Skillet" AKA..... La Quinta, Ca
    Posts
    5,107
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLUEKNIGHT911 View Post
    nope, the radio is OEM,( no added amp )… my speakers are JBL 2 ohm models …. however some members here have told me / us , that this will - should - can fry the radio ….. I have had this system for 45,000 miles and to-the-best of my knowledge the frying hasn't occurred …. quite of few folks here have also used the same JBL's and no one has reported the " frying " thing.... I'm just an audiophile not an audio engineer ….JBL / Harmon Kardon Co. actually have the Audio engineers who may not realize their speakers are defying Ohm's Law...… mike
    So you're no longer using the one mentioned in the post below? And went with BRP's OEM XM Radio?

    https://www.spyderlovers.com/forums/...ighlight=RADIO


    Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

  6. #6
    Very Active Member trikermutha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,332
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    I dont believe that is signal strength. I just put a oem on my spyder last week

    I never really checked if there was a signal strength indicator for xm

  7. #7
    Thinks out loud Jeriatric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    "The Skillet" AKA..... La Quinta, Ca
    Posts
    5,107
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trikermutha View Post
    I dont believe that is signal strength. I just put a oem on my spyder last week

    I never really checked if there was a signal strength indicator for xm
    Thinking that may be where it indicated signal strength was a 'WAG' on my part.

    May be that it doesn't have that feature.

    Thanks for the response.


    Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

  8. #8
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central VERMONT
    Posts
    13,311
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jerbear View Post
    So you're no longer using the one mentioned in the post below? And went with BRP's OEM XM Radio?

    https://www.spyderlovers.com/forums/...ighlight=RADIO
    …. To clarify - in 2014 the OEM radio didn't have XM receiver capability ( my Sienna van does )….. my ONYX XM receiver was purchased separately and added to the radio system ( I have pics and explanation in one of my Albums ) ….. XM may be available on newer Spyder radio's but wasn't on mine ….. Mike

  9. #9
    Thinks out loud Jeriatric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    "The Skillet" AKA..... La Quinta, Ca
    Posts
    5,107
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLUEKNIGHT911 View Post
    …. To clarify - in 2014 the OEM radio didn't have XM receiver capability ( my Sienna van does )….. my ONYX XM receiver was purchased separately and added to the radio system ( I have pics and explanation in one of my Albums ) ….. XM may be available on newer Spyder radio's but wasn't on mine ….. Mike
    Hmm.............https://can-am.brp.com/on-road/shop/...2010-2017.html


    Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

  10. #10
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central VERMONT
    Posts
    13,311
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jerbear View Post
    I suppose that will work …..however I only spent about $40.00 for mine and am very happy with it ….it's totally integrated with my stock OEM radio …. Mike

  11. #11
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    western Colorado
    Posts
    911
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jerbear View Post
    You also need 219400610 harness to go along with brp set up which is $129.99

  12. #12
    Thinks out loud Jeriatric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    "The Skillet" AKA..... La Quinta, Ca
    Posts
    5,107
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    You’re right. I don’t think Mike ever really got himself up to speed on BRP’s radio, comm. system.


    Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

  13. #13
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central VERMONT
    Posts
    13,311
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jerbear View Post
    You’re right. I don’t think Mike ever really got himself up to speed on BRP’s radio, comm. system.
    From your original post #1. …. you gave no indication we were discussing BRP's Comm. system ….. you asked what I had and I told you … you don't seem to understand Exactly what ((( XM ))) is … in relation to the radio I have in my 20114 RT, or any other radio for that matter ...… Mike

  14. #14
    Thinks out loud Jeriatric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    "The Skillet" AKA..... La Quinta, Ca
    Posts
    5,107
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLUEKNIGHT911 View Post
    From your original post #1. …. you gave no indication we were discussing BRP's Comm. system ….. you asked what I had and I told you … you don't seem to understand Exactly what ((( XM ))) is … in relation to the radio I have in my 20114 RT, or any other radio for that matter ...… Mike
    OEM = original equipment manufacturer - is in the header, Mike.

    You're talking oranges and I'm asking about apples. No big deal lets give it a rest.


    Identify what you have control over and find peace with what you don't.

  15. #15
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central VERMONT
    Posts
    13,311
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jerbear View Post
    OEM = original equipment manufacturer - is in the header, Mike.

    You're talking oranges and I'm asking about apples. No big deal lets give it a rest.
    ....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •