Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: DPS Error

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    3
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default DPS Error

    I have a DPS ERROR. It faulted my 2011 Spyder RT LTD. It put it into limp mode. I took it to the shop, they told me I needed to replace the main wiring harness, which is not available for my bike. They think a wire is shorting out.... somewhere. They told me their recommendation was to trade it off.
    This is not an option. I love my Spyder.
    From what I'm reading I'm thinking I need the brake system flushed. I bought this used with 7500 miles on it 2 years ago. it now has 11100 miles on it. I don't know if it has ever had this done.
    Needless to say, I will not be taking it back to this shop.

    Any opinions ??

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central VERMONT
    Posts
    12,663
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    I would get another opinion …… The shop you took it may not even have BUDS ….. But before you do that, dis-connect the battery for about 10 minutes, then add some star washers to the terminals ( since it's already dis-connected ) … then re-connect and see if the DPS has cleared - if it does - then how could it be the wiring ???? ….. good luck ….. Mike

  3. #3
    aka: akspyderman ARtraveler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NW Arkansas
    Posts
    34,131
    Spyder Garage
    6

    Default

    I suspect a dealer that will tell you to trade it off to solve the problem.

    Get a second opinion if possible.

    Currently Owned: 2011 RT A&C SE5 (magnesium), 2014 RTS-SE6 (yellow), 2015 Vulcan 900 LTD

    Previously : 2008 GS-SM5 (silver), 2009 RS-SE5 (red), 2010 RT-S Premier Editon #474 (black) Pictures of 2008 and 2009 Spyders are in Alaska Albums 2009 and 2010.
    5 Spyders, 10 years, 145,375 miles


  4. #4
    Very Active Member Grandpot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Fort Mill, SC
    Posts
    1,452
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Mike is right about the star washers. The DPS uses a lot of current and requires clean battery terminals. Unfortunately the true troubleshooting skills required for this machine are far beyond the average mechanic, so they use the shotgun method. Find a better mechanic.
    2011 RTS
    1998 Honda Valkyrie
    US Navy Veteran
    CNC Machine Service Technician
    Vice President: Rolling Thunder SC1
    Member: Disabled American Veterans, Rock Hill, SC
    Member: American Legion
    Experience is recognizing the same mistake every time you make it!

  5. #5
    Very Active Member DGoebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Faribault, MN
    Posts
    1,806
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    And Since there's a very experienced Spyder group down there in the Houma area, I bet you can get some better suggestions for service from the Spyders on the Bayou organizers, Cajun Country Spyder Ryders

    Bayouboy here on SL and others might be of assistance
    Safe Rides,
    David and Sharon Goebel
    Both Retired USAF Veterans
    2013 RT Limited, Pearl White
    Farkles too numerous to list
    See my Spyder Garage
    IBA 70020

  6. #6
    Very Active Member Snowbelt Spyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Chardon, OH
    Posts
    647
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    You may in fact want to flush the brake system, but rest assured, that has nothing to do with your DPS error, if that's what you meant by that. All correct advice above. And if your machine still has it's original battery, it's time for a new one. Aging batteries, as well as loose / dirty connections are the primary reasons for DPS issues. Not to say that the DPS system never fails, just that battery / voltage issues are more common. Good luck with it.


    Doug

    2012 Spyder RT LTD Lava Bronze, RT 622

    Original Owner

    Seal Pups, F4 Customs SWCV, Corbin, JT's Air Filter, Cat Bypass, Power Commander V, NBV, SpyderFlap, Rivco Dual Flag Holder, Lidlox, Baja Ron Sway Bar, links, plugs and wires, Adjustable Chrome Side Vents, Spyderpops Block Off Plate and Belt Guard, Bump Skid, Canisterectomy, Akrapovic, TricLed HL/FL, Spyder Cuff with X-Grip, S-Drive, Rock Armour, P238, Laser Alignment by Gray Ghost, Windshield Arm by Noboot, Vibration Dampener by Doc.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    3
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Thanks all.
    I was just trying to think what might be the problem. That's why I thought about the fluid flush.
    This shop actually supposedly changed out the battery a couple of months ago. I'm going to pick up the bike tomorrow.
    I will probably take it to Kenner, LA shop. Houma, LA is out of the way for me.
    Most people here are thinking it's a battery problem rather than a brake problem.
    Thanks for all your help

  8. #8
    Very Active Member Chupaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    San Diego, CA.
    Posts
    30,610
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default Thing is.....

    DPS error can come from several places and even just a glitch so to a low voltage moment. If it goes away and does not come back on a computer re-set ( shut it off remove the key and let it set for an hour) it may have been a glitch. If it comes back then you need to go further and as Mike said do the whole wiring and battery conections. The other clue you are really having an issue is the handling, steering gets really heavy and harder to handle. If not the case again there is not a DPS problem. Agree with a second opion as the whole wiring change is a new one for me and they may not have one but they are available.
    Gene and Ilana De Laney
    Mt. Helix, California

    ​2012 RS sm5

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    3
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Thanks All
    You have been a great help and have given me the info I needed.

  10. #10
    Very Active Member jwulf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Piedmont, SD (Black Hills)
    Posts
    758
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    The older 998's will throw that error with something as simple as a long sweeping curve as highway speeds. I can reliably replicate the error with mine on several roads out here. Just have to stop, shut it off for a minute or so and the code will clear (still be stored) and then we are.back off to the races. I have learned to vary my steering on those wide sweepers to avoid getting the code and resulting limp mode. If it doesn't clear when you turn it off for a few min, then you may have a variety of other possible issues as others have mentioned above.
    2017 Can Am Commander Limited
    2012 Cadillac CTS-V Black Diamond
    2011 RT-S Viper Red
    2010 RT622 - Black

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •