Thread: Oil usage.

Spyder Garage

Default Oil usage.

I am new to the Spyder. Just bought a 2018 F3T SE6 1330 about 2 months ago new from the dealer. I have been away from biking for 20+ years. Kids grown and out of the house time for me. My question for everyone or anyone is oil usage. I check my my oil on a regular bases. I have noticed that i have to 100 to 150 ml every couple of weeks. I have been keeping an eye out no leaks anywhere. Is this normal. I should mention this has turned into my primary mode of transportation. roughly 65 miles a day. Just a curiosity question. I have actually found some great information on this site, so thank you all for your posting. Loving every minute of my new purchase.

Spyder Garage

Here's a video that shows/tells you how to check oil on a 1330 engine.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DnfQ1oA4LIk
    Ours is a red, black and chrome 2017 F3 Limited. Bought new in 2/2019. The avatar is my first bike back in 1952, a Simplex Servi-Cycle. Photo taken at the Barber Museum.
    2017 F3 Limited , Red, Black & Chrome

Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

To waste less time always check the level AFTER a little or long ride …… My 14 RT has never needed any extra oil between oil changes …. Mike

Spyder Garage

The 1330 ACE engine DOES NOT USE ANY OIL!!!!! If you have RTFM and follow the instructions on checking the oil and you are adding oil YOU ARE OVERFILLING IT.
    Artillery lends dignity to what would
    otherwise be a vulgar brawl.
    Cognac 2014 RT-S

Spyder Garage

Glad I RTFM

Spyder Garage

C'mon Jay (& Bear?), he's pretty new here, no need to jump down his neck about reading the manual! Have you even bothered to ASK if he's done that & if he's using the correct oil check procedure before giving him a hard time about it!?!

Let's try that last bit again!

Firstly, welcome to the wonderful world of Spyder Ryding, the Forum, & posting here, CoDe3.