Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wire in power

  1. #1
    Member alycatmcclurg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    6
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Spyder Wire in power

    Hi there-
    Not very mechanically inclined so I am asking for a custom seat shop. I am getting my seat customized they are building in heat and a gel pad. The shop has not worked on the F3 before so is wondering where he would get power for the heated seats. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Very Active Member BLUEKNIGHT911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central VERMONT
    Posts
    13,238
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alycatmcclurg View Post
    Hi there-
    Not very mechanically inclined so I am asking for a custom seat shop. I am getting my seat customized they are building in heat and a gel pad. The shop has not worked on the F3 before so is wondering where he would get power for the heated seats. Any suggestions?
    I'm guessing you DON'T have a separate added Fuse Block ….. If you don't you can add a Hot lead to your battery, it must have it's own separate FUSE ( ie the wire has an IN-LINE fuse holder )…. I would add a separate switch so you can cut the power when heat not needed ….. OR you can tap into a switched power line -, but you better have pretty good knowledge before you attempt that way of doing it …… Also ..... Mike

  3. #3
    Member alycatmcclurg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    6
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Very Active Member Chupaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    San Diego, CA.
    Posts
    31,111
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default Agree...

    BLUEKNIGHT911
    good Idea to put the switch in a very visable location and perhaps a lighted switch so as not to forget about switching it off as being direct to the battery you will have a dead battery soon after....
    Gene and Ilana De Laney
    Mt. Helix, California

    ​2012 RS sm5

  5. #5
    Very Active Member billybovine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Mitchell, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,689
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Need more info. What year? You say you have an F3, but by your avatar it looks like a F3T or maybe a limited. So which is it. F3 or F3T? That can make a difference.

    If it is a F3T or limited. there should be an accessory circuit available under the pillion seat. 10 amp available. If that is enough. It should be. Also it is only on when the engine running. So you can't accidentally run the battery down if you forget to turn it off.

    2018 F3 LIMITED

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    23
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    I have a basic F3 sm6 and it has the accessory circuit under the seat. I am guessing they all have them.

  7. #7
    Member alycatmcclurg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    6
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Cinnamon is a F3L 2016

  8. #8
    Very Active Member billybovine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Mitchell, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,689
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    This is what they will be looking for.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    2018 F3 LIMITED

  9. #9
    Member alycatmcclurg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    6
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Thank you soooo much!!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •