Spyder Garage

Default Ok, Weird thing happened this morning

First day it's not raining so I got to ride in. I'm still fairly new to the tryke so I was working it a bit hard - hit 70-80 once or twice on the straights, but mostly cruising at around 65-70. Got to my exit, downshifted and stopped at the light so I put it in neutral. I noticed it smelled a little hot, but the gauge showed the 3 bars so I figured it was ok. Light changed, I hit the + button... and nothing. It stayed in neutral. Hm, hit it again and still nothing. Now I'm on a slight incline so I had to hold the brake so keep from moving so that wasn't it. I rolled to the side of the road, turned it off, waited a moment, then started it back up. Seems to be running fine, although I did notice the temp gauge was up to 4 bars and the fans kicked on. But not issues after that. Just a fluke?

On another note, when the fans kicked in, I hear the left side one, but not sure I could hear the right side. Is that normal?

I haven't had it but two weeks, hoping it's not dying already.
    2014 RT-S , Orange

Spyder Garage

do you shift your car into neutral at every stop sign/light? Is your RT an SE or SM?
    Of course you can't get out of neutral without foot on brake, Fans or fan kicking on is perfectly understandable
    If you have been sitting there a while idling. I don't think you have any real issues here, but that's just my guess.
    4 bars on temp gauge? That sounds like the gauge in the cluster. Not the analog one ?
    Flatlander, Navy Veteran, Widower
    Loved my 2014 RTS SE6 Pearl white
    but have a new love now,
    my 2017 RTS SE6 Champagne metallic (Champ)

Very Active Member Pirate looks at --'s Avatar
    Spyder Garage

I am pretty sure that this is not the problem but you do not need to shift into neutral. Not sure what may have caused the issue but worth a trip to the dealer to investigate.