Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default 10w40 redline oil

I run redline oil products in all my cars.....and would like to use in our new 2019 RTL But since I'm new to motorcycles would this oil be safe for the engine & tranny combo in the Spyder?
    This is there "motorcycle" oil that is "Blended with specific friction modifiers that are compatible with wet-clutches, suitable for JASO MA applications"

https://www.redlineoil.com/10w40-motorcycle-oil

Thanks,
    P.W.

Spyder Garage

Or, am I to use this "car" engine oil that states "Recommended for API SN/SM/SL/CF and ACEA A3/B3/B4"

https://www.redlineoil.com/5w40-motor-oil

Spyder Garage

Do NOT use car engine oils. Look in your operator's guide and use the motorcycle oil that meets the API service specification(s) called for in the guide.
    Artillery lends dignity to what would
    otherwise be a vulgar brawl.
    Cognac 2014 RT-S

Spyder Garage

Default Little checking.....

If it matches the specs in your manual your good to go. Don't know them off hand but someone will. That seems expensive per quart and there are many good oils out there.
    Gene and Ilana De Laney
    Mt. Helix, California

​2012 RS sm5
    2012 RS sm5 , 998cc V-Twin 106hp DIY brake and park brake Classic Black

Spyder Garage

That's just it..... the"motorcycle" oil says nothing about API service classification sj,sl,sm, or sn ....just that it's "Blended with specific friction modifiers that are compatible with wet-clutches, suitable for JASO MA applications"

On the other hand..... the "Car" engine oil does have the API service classification sj,sl,sm, or sn.....but says nothing about "wet clutches".

Confused!!

P.W.

Spyder Garage

BajaRon a sponsor here has the Amsoil that is perfect for your Spyder.

2017 F3 Limited in Intense Red Pearl

2008 Triumph Rocket (SOLD)

2002 Honda VTX 1800 C ( SOLD)

2014 Triumph Thunderbird Commander

Spyder Garage