Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Active Member campermac's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Etters PA
    Posts
    80
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default Has anyone installed this homelink garage door remote?

    I am looking for anyone that has any information on installing this homelink garage door opener

    https://www.amazon.com/Polaris-Range.../dp/B01KMBGX1G

    I am looking to see if it will fit in the center blank hole on a 2015 RTL.
    I currently have a USB outlet mounted there but would really like to mount the homelink opener

    Thank for the help

  2. #2
    Active Member campermac's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Etters PA
    Posts
    80
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default Homelink Garager Door opener

    I am looking for anyone that has any information on installing this homelink garage door opener

    https://www.amazon.com/Polaris-Range.../dp/B01KMBGX1G

    I am looking to see if it will fit in the center blank hole on a 2015 RTL.
    I currently have a USB outlet mounted there but would really like to mount the homelink opener

    Thank for the help

  3. #3
    Active Member RICZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    393
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    I have a concern with vehicle mounted garage door openers - steal the vehicle and the garage door can be opened. Call me paranoid, but I put a phony address that's around the corner in my phone & GPS for HOME. If anyone gets hold of it, they get waylayed away from my home.
    To salve my paranoia when on the Spyder, I carry a mini remote (that was supplied by the door installer) in my jacket pocket. It serves the same purpose as a built in one - I don't have to get off the bike to close or open the garage door.
    Ours is a red, black and chrome 2017 F3 Limited. Bought new in 2/2019. The avatar is my first bike back in 1952, a Simplex Servi-Cycle. Photo taken at the Barber Museum.

  4. #4
    Active Member tnhoover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    York Pa
    Posts
    114
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    If you navigate to home on my GPS you end up at the local Police Barracks.

  5. #5
    Active Member nhoj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Aurora Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    387
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tnhoover View Post
    If you navigate to home on my GPS you end up at the local Police Barracks.
    That is actually a recommended personal security item.... never have an accurate 'home' waypoint programmed on your GPS. Also suggested to prevent track history storage as well.

    'Home' on my GPS takes you to the middle of a Lake.
    Marilyn 2015 RTS SE6 Red
    John 2015 F3S SE6 Silver

    previous:
    2011 RT SM5 Silver
    2013 STS SM5 Silver

    "common sense will prevail....but we see no sign of that"

  6. #6
    Active Member Bensonoid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Benson, NY
    Posts
    464
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    2013 RT SE5 Pure magnesium metallic
    Leader GPS mount
    Russell Day Long seat
    Seadog power outlet DIY
    Mirror LED lights DIY
    Yokohama S drive
    Federal formoza's
    Daytime running lights DIY
    A name we shall not mention fender tip lights
    F4 Customs windshield
    Sena 20s

  7. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Thousand Islands
    Posts
    166
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    If you have your smartphone mounted on your bike just get a wifi link for your garage door opener and open garage door with your phone
    2015 Canam Spyder F3-S SE6
    Akrapovic Straight Shot Silencer #219400514
    Detachable Passenger backrest #219400703
    Gauge Spoiler #219400531
    Blue Ridge Windshield #219400746
    Hood stripes decal kit #219400711
    F3 Idler Pulley #219800431 / Lamonster roller upgrade
    Shad SH36 side bags.
    Bajaron SwayBar
    Elka Stage 2 rear shock
    Arc LED fog lights
    Lamonster F3 bar clamp with Quad-lock phone mount
    Foam Hand Grip Covers
    Tufskinz Peel & Stick Tank Protector Pad (Glossy doomed carbon)

  8. #8
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    291
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by donhy View Post
    If you have your smartphone mounted on your bike just get a wifi link for your garage door opener and open garage door with your phone
    How would one, that is not a high technology guy, go about this? cueman

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Thousand Islands
    Posts
    166
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cueman View Post
    How would one, that is not a high technology guy, go about this? cueman
    You basically buy this hub for $79 and as long as you have wifi that reaches your garage the rest is easy.

    https://www.amazon.com/Smart-Garage-...-1-spons&psc=1

    It's pretty neat, you can open/close garage door from anywhere in the world, you can also setup alerts so that if your wife leaves garage door open you get notified by email or app notification
    2015 Canam Spyder F3-S SE6
    Akrapovic Straight Shot Silencer #219400514
    Detachable Passenger backrest #219400703
    Gauge Spoiler #219400531
    Blue Ridge Windshield #219400746
    Hood stripes decal kit #219400711
    F3 Idler Pulley #219800431 / Lamonster roller upgrade
    Shad SH36 side bags.
    Bajaron SwayBar
    Elka Stage 2 rear shock
    Arc LED fog lights
    Lamonster F3 bar clamp with Quad-lock phone mount
    Foam Hand Grip Covers
    Tufskinz Peel & Stick Tank Protector Pad (Glossy doomed carbon)

  10. #10
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Greer, SC
    Posts
    37
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    I made my own for all my previous bikes. I just took a standard keychain remote and took the case off, then desoldered the button and attached 2 wires, then pulled the battery and soldered two wires onto that, added a voltage regulator, and tied to the bike battery. Front there I mounted a waterproof momentary switch under my tank and tied the wires from the button to it.

  11. #11
    Very Active Member DGoebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Faribault, MN
    Posts
    1,778
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Ibified, Easy as screwing in a light bulb, or a RT left foglight... Just kidding, your idea sounds easy enough.
    Safe Rides,
    David and Sharon Goebel
    Both Retired USAF Veterans
    2013 RT Limited, Pearl White
    Farkles too numerous to list
    See my Spyder Garage
    IBA 70020

  12. #12
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Greer, SC
    Posts
    37
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    I'll try to find my writeup on it on the bike board I posted it on. If you can solder, you can do it. If you can't solder, you can send it to me along with the button you want to use and tell me how long you want your wire from the opener to the button to be and I'll solder it for you and send it back. Not a big deal.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Hubert, NC
    Posts
    3
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    I would think that the switch should fit the only question will be what power cable works best with the Spyder. With respect to someone stealing the Spyder then going to your house to rob it. I installed a keypad dead bolt on the door from the garage to the house. Whenever I am gone for awhile I lock this door. Then of course if they break down this door with the dead bolt they better know the alarm code because the door from the garage to the house is also on the central alarm.

    I hope someone has an answer because I plan on installing the Homelink switch on my new to me 2014 ST Spyder when I pick it up in two weeks.

    Quote Originally Posted by campermac View Post
    I am looking for anyone that has any information on installing this homelink garage door opener

    https://www.amazon.com/Polaris-Range.../dp/B01KMBGX1G

    I am looking to see if it will fit in the center blank hole on a 2015 RTL.
    I currently have a USB outlet mounted there but would really like to mount the homelink opener

    Thank for the help

  14. #14
    Very Active Member IdahoMtnSpyder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    6,306
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by campermac View Post
    I am looking for anyone that has any information on installing this homelink garage door opener

    https://www.amazon.com/Polaris-Range.../dp/B01KMBGX1G

    I am looking to see if it will fit in the center blank hole on a 2015 RTL.
    I currently have a USB outlet mounted there but would really like to mount the homelink opener

    Thank for the help
    I think it might be too deep to fit. It's a tight squeeze under the switch group. Did you cut out the center hole to mount the USB? The original hole is about 3/4" round.

    2014 Copper RTS

    Tri-Axis bars, CB, BajaRon sway bar & shock adjusters, SpyderPop's Bumpskid, NBV peg brackets, LED headlights and modulator, Wolo trumpet air horns, trailer hitch, custom trailer harness, high mount turn signals, Custom Dynamics brake light, LED turn signal lights on mirrors, LED strip light for a dash light, garage door opener, LED lights in frunk, trunk, and saddlebags, RAM mounts and cradles for tablet (for GPS) and phone (for music), and Smooth Spyder belt tensioner.

  15. #15
    Very Active Member PW2013STL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    ST Bonifacius, MN
    Posts
    2,945
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    This will not fit do to how deep it is. You have about 2" to work with on your Spyder and this is just short of 3" deep.
    I installed a Modoor opener with touchpad and it was easy to find a convenient spot on our Spyder to stick that pad.
    2015 F3S, 2018 F3L

    Isn't it weird that in AMERICA our flag and our culture offend so many people......
    but our benefits don't?

  16. #16
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Ky
    Posts
    61
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Its probably a very very low risk that someone would both steal your Spyder, then ride that same stolen Spyder to your home to rob you. How would they even know what one more button on the Spyder is used for? Just label it “Lojack” and they’ll never touch it.

    Kidding aside, on my other bike I bought a spare remote and ordered an acc button from the manufacturer of my bike, then mounted both in the console next to an identical button. Cut and soldered into the wiring on the remote and everything was integrated.

    I did it slightly different from the other poster in that I was too lazy to wire it to my battery. Still going strong on the duracell 2 years later, 2 screws to lift the console and change batteries.

    Good luck whichever route you go.

  17. #17
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    St Pete Beach
    Posts
    108
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    I should have added, the switch with the mo-door is rectangular, the center of the Can Am panel is a smaller round hole. Yours has likely been trimmed already, given the USB port that is there, but if not you will need to trim the switch panel to the correct shape. Not hard to do.

  18. #18
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    St Pete Beach
    Posts
    108
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Mo-Door has a motorcycle opener, and they offer a variety of switches including one that matches perfectly the existing Can Am switches. You can choose between 1 or 2 "way" switches, so 1 or 2 doors. Put on mine and it works like a charm.

    http://www.mo-door.com/Can-Am_Spyder_Toggle_Switch.html

  19. #19
    Active Member campermac's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Etters PA
    Posts
    80
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    McClendons:

    Where did you mount the transmitter and how long of a cable did you order for it?

  20. #20
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    St Pete Beach
    Posts
    108
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by campermac View Post
    McClendons:

    Where did you mount the transmitter and how long of a cable did you order for it?
    I put the transmitter off to the riders left, under the little triangular cover that shows when the Trunk is open. It is the side OPPOSITE where the BUDS cable is. There is a good bit of room under the cover, I also put a fuse block in the same location. Makes it very easy to get short cables up to the handlebar and switch panel areas.
    I did not order a special length cable, if you order the one with the CAN Am switch it was plenty long for that install. Also would be very easy to splice in additional wire of longer is needed.

    Motorcycle Dave is exactly right with modifying one, very easy to do. That said, for my case I would have had to buy a remote transmitter and wanted the Can Am momentary switch. If I bought those it would have been in the ballpark of the mo-door. I'd had there mo-doors, and they have all been excellent with very good range. If I had a spare transmitter, I might have gone the custom approach but would have still wanted the Can Am Switch --- so likely about 1/3 the price

  21. #21
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    St Pete Beach
    Posts
    108
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by McClendons View Post
    I put the transmitter off to the riders left, under the little triangular cover that shows when the Trunk is open. It is the side OPPOSITE where the BUDS cable is. There is a good bit of room under the cover, I also put a fuse block in the same location. Makes it very easy to get short cables up to the handlebar and switch panel areas.
    I did not order a special length cable, if you order the one with the CAN Am switch it was plenty long for that install. Also would be very easy to splice in additional wire of longer is needed.
    20190512_183531.jpg
    Was asked for more detail through message, I placed mine under the cover in the picture. Plenty of room.

  22. #22
    Very Active Member Lew L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    forrest above Reno, Nv
    Posts
    1,981
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by McClendons View Post
    20190512_183531.jpg
    Was asked for more detail through message, I placed mine under the cover in the picture. Plenty of room.
    I put mine there also, plenty of room and easy wire fishing.
    Last edited by Lew L; 05-13-2019 at 09:54 AM. Reason: speeling
    Kaos----- Gone but not forgotten.

    2014 RTS in circuit yellow, farkeling addiction down to once every few months. Flashed ECU installed

  23. #23
    Very Active Member Jim&Teresa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Woodbury, MN
    Posts
    1,362
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    I had installed an AutoSwitch Motorcycle Garage Door Remote Activator AS-7G (got it on ebay). Installed on our 2014 RT Limited when it was relatively new -- installed in July 2014. It has worked well and wires into the bike. I wired this to my fog lamp switch (as the trigger toggle) and when I reach near the garage door, I just toggle the fog light switch and it allows the transmitter to open the door. Works well, but limited range. You need to get close to the garage door. Also, it took some time to wire it in. I like that it is invisible on the bike (tucked under the tupperware) and uses an existing toggle switch to trigger the garage door opening..... It was around $30. I don't know if I would spend that much time on putting one in again....On our Goldwing, I just used double stick tape and put a small garage transmitter in my side case...much easier and lower costs!!
    Happy and safe rydin'
    2014 Spyder RT Limited - January 2014, Cognac/Black Seat, #958, born on 1-8-14

    Happy Spyder Owners, Jim & Teresa

  24. #24
    Active Member campermac's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Etters PA
    Posts
    80
    Spyder Garage
    1

    Default

    thanks for that info

  25. #25
    Active Member CrashDavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Niceville, FL
    Posts
    35
    Spyder Garage
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by McClendons View Post
    I put the transmitter off to the riders left, under the little triangular cover that shows when the Trunk is open. It is the side OPPOSITE where the BUDS cable is. There is a good bit of room under the cover, I also put a fuse block in the same location. Makes it very easy to get short cables up to the handlebar and switch panel areas.
    I did not order a special length cable, if you order the one with the CAN Am switch it was plenty long for that install. Also would be very easy to splice in additional wire of longer is needed.
    Mine is apart right now putting in stuff. I agree there is room under there but what did you mount the fuse block and the MoDoor to?
    2017 RT Limited

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •