Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Social Security Questions

All,

The wife and I just turned 67 last November. I have been putting off starting SS until I am 70 to maximize our monthly benefit. My wife, a Pharmacist, retired in May, 1992. So, her SS will be considerably less than mine. I am a retired engineer and worked until I retired in December 2010.

I have been searching for honest guidance on SS. I have called the local office to no avail (never got off of hold). All of the FAQ on the SS website are about useless. So, how can I get straight forward advice, no spin and on one looking to handle my investments, etc.?

We have been trying to determine EXACTLY what each of our SS monthly incomes will be when started at some arbitrary date in the future. It seems the best we can do is use the 'SS Estimator,' of which I have little confidence in its accuracy. I need to know exactly what our monthly incomes will be at some future start date.

But, something just dawned on me last night. If I die before my wife, which is most likely, she will then move to my 'survivor' benefits - I think. I THOUGHT she would keep her benefits, too. But, I realized last night that was probably incorrect. Is that assumption correct, or am I misunderstanding the rules?

Finally, where can we get honest, unbiased advice? The SS department has not been useful to this point.

Regards,
    Joe T.
    Joe T.
    I miss SoCal - - - -

Spyder Garage