Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Very Active Member IdahoMtnSpyder's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Default Job Interview Salary Question

Deanna's comment asking about money during her recent job interview reminds me of my experience years ago.

At end of the year in 1974 I was invited by my boss at Corning Glass Works in Pennsylvania to go look for another job. As fortune would have it I snagged an interview in just a few days with the Herr-Voss Corporation north of Pittsburgh. At the end of the visit the HR manager said they'd like me to come work for them. As we talked he finally asked what I wanted for salary.

"What are you willing to pay me?" I asked.
    "I asked first," he said.
    So I said, "Let's each take a piece of paper and write down our numbers, and then show them simultaneously."
    As he got a couple of pieces of paper he was laughing. "I've never done this before!"
    We wrote our numbers, then slapped the papers on the desk. Both were $16,000!

2014 Copper RTS

Tri-Axis bars, CB, BajaRon sway bar & shock adjusters, SpyderPop's Bumpskid, NBV peg brackets, LED headlights and modulator, Wolo trumpet air horns, trailer hitch, custom trailer harness, high mount turn signals, Custom Dynamics brake light, LED turn signal lights on mirrors, LED strip light for a dash light, garage door opener, LED lights in frunk, trunk, and saddlebags, RAM mounts and cradles for tablet (for GPS) and phone (for music), and Smooth Spyder belt tensioner.
    2014 RTS , Copper! (officially Cognac)

Spyder Garage