Spyder Garage

Default First Ride Today - STS SE5

Took the new scoot out for my first ride today. Followed my hubby who was on his Goldwing trike around the back roads where we live.
    Thought I was doing fine but after researching when to shift (RPM) I realized that I was shifting too soon and that is bad for the bike. (3000 RPM)
    I have no manual but tried reading a downloaded version but that was difficult. Asked a fellow on this forum and he told me the the STS SE5 should be round 4500-5000 before going into the next gear. Since I am a novice, I guess I am allowed a few mistakes.

So I need advice on shifting.....
    Do I shift from first to second when I reach a certain speed OR a certain RPM?
    and then after that the next gear at 4500 rpm???
    The do's and do nots article has info on other models.
    I appreciate your help.
    2014 Can Am Spyder STS SE5
    Ultimate seats with backrests
    Can Am hard saddlebags

Spyder Garage

Default Shifting ST 998

998 V Twin is a high rev engine. I have an ST, SE5 and shift gears any where between 5K and 6K, Really doesn't matter what the MPH. 6K is perhaps a little high, but feels OK at times. The transition between the gears will feel smooth. Hold the Throttle steady or slightly increase the speed when shifting. It won't take long for you to get the "feel".

Dennis
    2013 ST , Black

Spyder Garage

info here:
    http://www.spyderlovers.com/forums/s...-Spyder-owners
    & may not be listed but has been suggested beginners use trailer mode that will adjust the shifting perimeters. Staying in the power band 4500-8000rpm does help the mpg & ethonal free gas. Enjoy & hope to see you out there
    Last edited by Bfromla; 08-30-2018 at 10:46 PM. Reason: Link

2013 STL SE5 BLACK CURRANT
    SpyderPop's: LED bumpskid
    SmoothSpyder: dualmode back rest
    T r * * LED:foam grip covers, Tricrings, FenderZ,
    brake light strips, wide vue mirrors
    Rivico SOMA modulation brake leds