Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Battery trickle charger vs. Battery Tender??

Hi Guys,

Newbie here, and just bought my Spyder F-3 S 2015. I am in chilly Canada and would love to know what is best for Spyder storage...Battery trickle charger or Battery tender? I read the manual and it did say a Trickle charger can be used but I've also read online that alot of owners prefer the Floating Tender? Which do you think is best for a place that can get below -30C?

Very Active Member
    Spyder Garage

I use a battery tender

Spyder Garage

Do you pull your battery for the Winter months? Thanks for taking the time to answer my question

Spyder Garage

Have used tender for years. No issues. When I used a trickle charger I had issues. Tenders win.
    08 RS/SM5 (Hers) (sold)
    15 RT-S (Mine)
    2015 RT-S , Metallic Black

Spyder Garage

If the "trickle" charger does not have the ability to switch to a float charge then I wouldn't bother with it personally. The Battery Tender is the way to go. It is smart enough to deal with temps, sulfation, float charging and even bring back completely dead batteries in most cases....

'15 F3-S Pure Magnesium Metallic - Mad Max Edition
    '15 Mclaren 650S Coupe - Aurora Blue

"You Were Really Flyin', When I Passed You Back There!"

Chuck
    2015 F3-S , Pure Magnesium Metallic/Steel Black Metallic

Spyder Garage

Battery "Tenders" will only charge when needed, and are the better and safer choice.
    2021 RT Limited

2016 RTS , Pearl White

Very Active Member IdahoMtnSpyder's Avatar
    Spyder Garage

Quote Originally Posted by Skyla View Post
    Hi Guys,

Newbie here, and just bought my Spyder F-3 S 2015. I am in chilly Canada and would love to know what is best for Spyder storage...Battery trickle charger or Battery tender?