Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Spyder Garage

Default Check Engine/Check Transmission

Hello All,

Was riding to work this morning and half way through the ride when I switched to 5th gear I got an E on the screen and then it keep saying check engine / check transmission. I pulled over, turned off the bike and turned it on and all went clear so I started riding. I went again into 5th gear and same thing, at this time I realized it was when I was getting to 5th gear it was getting the error. The bike was running and all just getting that error. I kept riding and then it started happening in 4th gear. I almost got to work and then it wouldn't get out of first gear until i pushed the up shift hard (SE5) and then if i let off the accelerator it went into E/N.

I don't like the symptoms it's presenting and I hope it's not a big big burden on my head.

When I did the oil change /exhaust replacement, I got the check transmission light once but it went again. Read on the forums it happens if you do an oil change.

Please help

5085429523537602096-account_id=1.jpg

Invalid Emails
    Spyder Garage

Position sensor?

Spyder Garage

Default Bummer...

if not a glitch or soft shifting it tends to be the position sensor. You could check the wiring which is in the area of the oil filters to make sure all connections are good/tight and not damaged. Or take it to the dealer who may find it faulty and replace it..
    Gene and Ilana De Laney
    Mt. Helix, California

​2012 RS sm5
    2012 RS sm5 , 998cc V-Twin 106hp DIY brake and park brake Classic Black

Spyder Garage

I just went to the bike and try to "force" the issue, and I took it up to 5th gear in the parking lot and no go. All good. I'll see hopefully when I'm going hope the issue comes up so that I can get a code. I've been riding for a few days now and nothing and until today.

Could it be me riding the bike "hard" and changing the gears at 4-5k rpm could have caused the issue.

It's a 2009 SE5 GS.

Now I'm paranoid.