PDA

View Full Version : BREAK PAD MYSTERY

Larry rt
11-18-2016, 08:32 AM
Took a my 2013rtl in for rear tire replacement, new front brake pads and to fix parking brake failure. When tech was trying to figure out why parking brake was not holding, he checked the rear pads ( which was replaced 2 and half months prior ) . DISCOVERED that the pads were only worn on the ends, not evenly . ONE pad was worn on the front about 1/4 of an inch from end. THE other pad was worn about the same distance from the other end.
It was like the pads were on an angle. Tech said they were seated correct.
Question to the knowledgeable ones, what would cause this?

cuznjohn
11-18-2016, 08:42 AM
i am not a pro on stuff like this, but it does sound like the pads were cupped

Chupaca
11-18-2016, 09:50 AM
Some calipers have some spacers (washers) that if not installed correctly can have them at an angle. They might check the alignment of the caliper to the disc....:thumbup: Something to watch for when taking them apart....:lecturef_smilie:

Aracknoid
11-18-2016, 10:09 AM
Took a my 2013rtl in for rear tire replacement, new front brake pads and to fix parking brake failure. When tech was trying to figure out why parking brake was not holding, he checked the rear pads ( which was replaced 2 and half months prior ) . DISCOVERED that the pads were only worn on the ends, not evenly . ONE pad was worn on the front about 1/4 of an inch from end. THE other pad was worn about the same distance from the other end.
It was like the pads were on an angle. Tech said they were seated correct.
Question to the knowledgeable ones, what would cause this?

The only item that can be aligned is the calper to the disk. A service tech that is defending his position by saying the pads were seated correctly, may not be the tech to go to the next time.