PDA

View Full Version : here is a interesting question for everyone.

cuznjohn
07-18-2016, 03:15 AM
with the convention starting tomorrow in Ohio, people want the governor to suspend the OPEN CARRY LAW, around the convention center. DO YOU THINK THIS IS A GOOD IDEA, AND SHOULD HE DO IT.

personally i think it is a good idea, there will be a lot of protesters outside the fences they put up, and it might become a bloodbath if they have lots of people with guns. SO WHAT DO YOU THINK. the governor has said he can't suspend the law, and will not try to do it.

lizmcg
07-18-2016, 04:56 AM
From what Judge Jeanine said on Fox News, because open carry is apparently legal, the only way to do that would be to pass a new law or declare martial law, and he can't do the first and doesn't have grounds for the second, even if he wanted to do something so extreme. I'm no legal expert, but it sounds reasonable, and she knows what she's talking about. Besides, the thugs wouldn't abide by any such declaration anyway.

Dan McNally
07-18-2016, 06:52 AM
People who would shoot others over a political convention are not the sort of people who would obey any law, since murder is already illegal.

Protestors who decide to ramp up the level of their protest may have second thoughts if the people they are about to physically attack are visibly armed.

People who are being attacked by thugs who carry signs, to somehow legitimize their physical attacks on others, have the right to defend themselves.

Violating Constitutional rights goes two ways - protestors have the right to peaceful assembly; Ohioans have the right to open carry. The two rights are not mutually exclusive.

Bob Denman
07-18-2016, 07:14 AM
I'm a staunch advocate of the Second Amendment, and a Benefactor Member of the NRA...
That being said: he should just declare martial law, take the crowds off of the streets in the evenings, and let everyone go home safe...
Is it an ideal solution? No...