PDA

View Full Version : Is this tire pluggable?

llyrad
06-10-2016, 12:34 PM
Have a small puncture and was considering plugging it. But as I've never done it before (but understand how its done), I just want to make sure the location of puncture should be plugged or tire replaced?
http://www.spyderlovers.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=131852&stc=1

cuznjohn
06-10-2016, 12:36 PM
not on a side wall

Smokinspyder
06-10-2016, 12:36 PM
If that is a side wall then I don't believe it should be plugged. At least from what I recall but my memory is starting to go on me so I would replace it if it is a side wall. Unless someone with better knowledge can suggest a different approach,

Bob Denman
06-10-2016, 12:37 PM
Judging by the foam: it appears to be up in the tread area... that would be pluggable.

But I'd never plug the tire on a Spyder... It's just better to replace it. nojoke

(But that's just me! :D)

SPECTACUALR SPIDERMAN
06-10-2016, 12:37 PM
NO & on a bike a plug is only temporary should be done as a combi patch

Bob Denman
06-10-2016, 12:38 PM
Al,
Would you please remind him of your qualifications? :thumbup:

finless
06-10-2016, 01:50 PM
You are never suppose to plug on a sidewall.

Bob

MikeT
06-10-2016, 02:06 PM
Judging by the foam: it appears to be up in the tread area... that would be pluggable.

But I'd never plug the tire on a Spyder... It's just better to replace it. nojoke

(But that's just me! :D)
Sorry Bob, you're not alone in feeling this way. I willl only have a MC ot trike tire plugged as a temporary "fix" until I can get it replaced. This is especially true of the 2-ply tires on a Spyder.

blacklightning
06-10-2016, 02:08 PM
I have only plugged the sidewall of a tire two times. Both were on my 21 hp huskavana lawn mower. Anything that will go faster than a lawn mower, I would replace the tire.

robertl
06-10-2016, 02:32 PM